Comfort Food: Apple Crisp Edition

Apple crisp isn’t going to change your life.  I can promise you that.

But what it might do is make you feel like everything is all right with your world; that your insides are warm and fuzzy and nothing bad can happen.  And that nothing makes you feel better than ice cream melting into cinnamon and nutmeg with warm apples and crunchy-buttery oats and nuts.

Apple crisp is a comfort food, my friends.  At least in my house it is.  My mom always makes at least one apple crisp every fall, and when I was a freshman at college she drove six hours to visit with a pan of still-warm apple crisp to help me move in the right way.

And that is comforting.

Apple Crisp (makes enough to serve a large crowd, or have lots of leftovers to be warmed up later)

for the filling:

  • 10-12 mixed varieties of apples (Empire, Pink Lady, Granny Smith, Braeburn…), peeled, cored, and cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 2 T lemon or lime juice
  • 1 t cinnamon

for the topping:

  • 1 C whole-wheat flour (I was out, so I used all-purpose)
  • 3/4 C almond meal
  • 1 C brown sugar
  • 1 C whole walnuts
  • 1 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 C butter (1 stick, chilled)
  • 2 T maple syrup
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • freshly grated nutmeg (about 1/2 t)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  The first big step is to peel, core, and chop the apples–and this step is much easier when you have one of those nifty apple corer and slicer things.  I do, thank goodness.  Mix in the sugar, spices, and lemon or lime.  Pour the apple mixture into a large dish–mine is 10′ x 15′.  The apples should come right up to the top (but don’t worry, they’ll cook down later).  Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the ingredients for the topping.  Cut the butter (it’s better if it is a bit chilled) into small pieces into the bowl.  Use your hands for the easiest mixing, blending the flours into the butter until it is the texture of sandy pebbles…if that makes any sense. 

Crumble the mixture over the top of the apples, and dust with freshly grated nutmeg.  Bake on the middle rack until the apples are soft and bubbly and the top is golden brown, about an hour.

Please, please, oh please, serve with ice cream.  Warm.

And when you reheat this, do it in the oven and not the microwave.  Your mother will thank you.  And so will your belly.

One of the best parts of this is the big walnuts–and that’s coming from someone who’s not a big fan of nuts inside desserts.

And if you’ve had a hard day at school, or a long day at work, or a fight with your hubs, or you are feeling down for any reason, really…this is your dessert.

Enjoy!

13 Comments

Filed under Desserts

13 responses to “Comfort Food: Apple Crisp Edition

  1. I totally needed this apple crisp today. Just reading the post and thinking about making this crisp in the near future made me feel a lot better. Thanks!

  2. Aw, apples remind me of you Lauren, love ya!

  3. First of all what amazing photos. Literally amazing. I can’t wait to get a properly decent camera! Think me and my girlfriend are going to go halvies on one eventually. Also, what a cute cat and what a fantastic looking crisp. Nice one!

  4. Just found your blog by way of a tumblr post. So glad I did! Absolutely fantastic. Can’t wait to try some of these recipes!

  5. Tasha Orshoff

    I made a mini apple crisp the night I saw this. It really hit the spot!

  6. This looks and sounds soo good!! I’ve been looking forward to baking some autumn-inspired dishes, so I can’t wait to try it out.

  7. I was hooked after the kitty picture….the apple crisp looks divine. I can’t wait to try it. Love your blog!

  8. Yum, I just can never get sick of apple crisp. Every time I see it on a restaurant menu I am tempted to order it, even though I make it regularly all year long! Yours looks delicious, just as I expected 🙂

  9. I found you off a Tastespotting search and have to say that even without the oats (which I plain forgot to add, oops!) this was totally fantastic. I also decreased the sugar (to 1/2 cup packed) and used molasses instead of maple syrup because that’s what I had on hand. Thanks so much! Delicious!

Leave a Reply

