Cilantro-Lime Brown Rice

It’s almost unbelievable that it’s been ten years already since that day when, in the midst of my ninth grade ignorance, I found myself watching live footage of a terrorist attack on the World Trade Center with my fellow classmates.  I don’t remember much except being shocked and a little detached–I don’t think I was old enough to really understand the significance of what happened.

Well, ten years later, we’re still here–and I understand a lot more about what happened that day.  I watched an incredibly powerful video in church today documenting the men and woman who, through either circumstance or choice, gave their lives in that tragic and terrible event.  And even just by writing about this on my blog, I’m reminding myself that though ten years can encompass new pets, a couple of boyfriends and a husband, a high school diploma and a degree and a half, several moves across the state, purchasing two cars, and the promise of a brand new niece or nephew, I won’t forget.

September 11th also marks another anniversary–the one year anniversary of my blog!  If you want to see how far I’ve come–here’s the first post I ever wrote (and what an ambitious one it was, making apple pie): A Brand New Beginning.

A couple of people gave me suggestions for what to make with cilantro, and I decided to go with my sister, Erin’s idea, for cilantro and lime rice.  She sent me this recipe, which I used as inspiration for this fresh and yummy side dish.

Cilantro-Lime Brown Rice

  • 1 T canola oil
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • 1 C uncooked brown rice
  • 2 C hot water
  • 1/4-1/2 C cilantro (I measured the amount before I diced it), finely chopped
  • zest of one lime
  • juice of half a lime (but adjust as you like it–this was about 2-3 T)
  • salt to taste

I decided to make this in a fried-rice style because I love the nutty taste it gives to brown rice.  Start by browning the shallot over medium heat, then toss the dried rice into the oil as well.  Let the rice fry with the shallots for a few minutes until it starts to smell toasty. 

Pour the two cups of hot water over the rice, cover, and reduce the heat to medium low.  Cook for about 25 minutes, or until the rice is tender, stirring occasionally.  Stir in the lime zest, juice, and cilantro, and season with salt to taste.

I actually loved this rice–very simple flavors, but bright and fresh with the lime and cilantro.  It would be so good with tacos.  So good.

Erin–good call!

I think that for lunch tomorrow I’m going to throw some chickpeas in there to make it a heartier meal and have it as a main dish.  Since Fritz hates cilantro, I’m going to be able to try this rice in a couple different ways.

It’s also quite simple and quick to make, which is always a bonus.

For the remaining cilantro, which was looking a bit wilty, I chopped it up and froze it (see here for a tutorial).  I’m planning on using it in a Thai pork kind of meal (also an inspiration from another blog reader!).

And aren’t these baby red potatoes a beauty?  I cooked ’em as salt potatoes tonight with fantastic results–they were creamy bite size potato packages.

I want to leave you with a question tonight–what is your most powerful memory of 9/11?

6 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

6 responses to “Cilantro-Lime Brown Rice

  1. Yummy and healthy! love it! mmm my post powerful memory? going home to my at the time 4 month old daughter and holding her in my arms as i watched the horror of the other planes hit. I couldn’t believe it, it was horrifying being worried about what kind of world i had brought my daughter into. 😦 don’t think i’ll ever forget the news showing what happened for the first time..

  2. Delicious looking rice! I keep meaning to try a cilantro-lime rice, so I’ll have to give this a try. And happy one year anniversary for your blog! Keep up the great work 🙂

  3. Most powerful memory: It was only the 2nd day of a new school year and I hadn’t even gotten to know the names of my 8th graders. Teachers had an impromptu meeting before school began, and we ended with a prayer which released the flood of fearful tears I had been holding back to be stoic in front of my students. We got through the day. Next day I had them write about their experience just to release emotions. Without any writing lessons, those were the best, most heartwrenching pieces of writing I’ve ever gotten from students.

  4. Being British I didn’t find out until I got home, it was a bit of a shock and a little bit exciting – though in a more negative than positive sense. This rice looks awesome by the way, really delicious!

  5. ofelia jimenez

    Delicious rice

  6. mmm, two of my favorite flavors in one of my favorite carbs! I’m feeling like Mexican food tonight!

Leave a Reply

