Peppermint Patty Green Monster

Ever since coming back from vacation, I have been craving fruits and vegetables like whoa.  I think it’s because it’s hot back here in New York (not crazy hot, but it’s definitely not fall weather like Canada).

I had a beautiful salad for lunch made from a bunch of locally grown veggies (including the reddest tomato I have ever seen), and then an apple (golden and delicious, as the name implied), and then I was still dying for vegetables.

Green monster it is.  ‘Specially one that has a fresh and cooling taste thanks to some chocolate mint from my herb garden.

Peppermint Patty Green Monster Printable Recipe Card

  • 1 ripe banana, frozen
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 10 small chocolate mint leaves (you can use regular mint, too)
  • 1/2 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 C skim milk
  • 4 ice cubes
  • honey or chocolate syrup to taste (optional for those of you who want a sweeter drink)

Layer the ingredients in a blender in this order: spinach, mint, cocoa powder, banana, ice, and skim milk poured over the top.  Putting the heavy stuff on top helps to press the light stuff down into the blender mechanism.

Blend for a few minutes until smooth.  Pour into a glass and serve immediately (makes one smoothie).

I actually couldn’t believe how much this really tasted like a peppermint patty.  Sweet, a bit of chocolate (how good would this be with chocolate pieces stirred in?), and that perfect cool minty finish.

As always, you can’t even taste the baby spinach.  If you use a heartier green like kale or chard, you’ll be able to detect it–that’s why I went with spinach on this one.

Vegetable and fruit craving satisfied.

Now on to more important things:

7 Comments

Filed under Beverages

7 responses to “Peppermint Patty Green Monster

  1. I can’t wait to make this with my chocolate mint (sister of yours) that is taking over in the garden! What a great idea!! New dessert treat 🙂

  2. That is so cool!!! Hehe, Henry is such a cutie. 🙂

  3. So I randomly came across this recipe (which looks amazing btw), and then realized that I know you! Hi Lauren! It’s Casey! I’m totally making this.

  4. I have a bunch of mint I need to make use of and this looks mind blowingly incredible! Can’t wait to try!

  5. Robert Triscoli

    I am so making this. Props on the photos too.

Leave a Reply

