Hot Chocolate Cookies

This may sound like a weird thing to post in the middle of summer, but it was freezin’ cold yesterday!  It required sweaters, multiple pairs of pants, socks, and blankets in order to sit outside and read my Kindle by morning light.

So you can imagine how happy I was, since I’ve been fiending for fall since April hit.

I know, I’m a crazy person.  But Fritz made the whole family some hot chocolate, and I was inspired.  I needed hot chocolate in cookie form.  Immediately.

I searched the web for a few recipes, but didn’t find any that I really liked so experiment, I did.  I also had limited ingredients on hand (we are on vacation, after all), so I was pleasantly surprised when this recipe turned out just loverly.

Hot Chocolate Cookies (makes a dozen cookies) Printable Recipe Card

  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/3 C butter
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1/8 C milk
  • 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1 t baking soda
  • sprinkle of salt (probably around 1/8 t)
  • 1/2 C hot cocoa mix (not unsweetened cocoa powder)
  • 1/2 C choc0late chips (optional–use as a glaze or in the cookies if you want!)
  • 6 large marshmellows, cut in half vertically

This recipe is fairly simple.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, then add the milk and egg.  Beat until blended, and sprinkle in the remaining ingredients, except the marshmallows (and chocolate chips if using for a glaze).  Mix until just blended.

Drop large spoonfuls onto a lightly greased baking sheet (I used two, since the cookies spread out and puffed up quite nicely!).  Bake for 6-8 minutes on the middle rack until they just begin to set. 

Remove the baking sheets from the oven and press a marshmallow half, cut side down, into each cookie.  Place the cookie sheets on a higher rack and turn on the broiler.  Watch carefully and remove the cookies after the marshmallows puff and turn a beautiful golden brown (about a minute).

If you used the chocolate chips in the cookies, then you are done.  Otherwise, carefully melt the chips in the microwave at low power for a few seconds at a time, then drizzle the melted chocolate over the top.

Enjoy with a cold glass of milk or a steaming mug of hot chocolate.

Fritz and his dad later heated some cookies up in the microwave to be topped with ice cream, and declared that a true success.

What I like about these cookies is that they are not too sweet–even with the marshmallow and chocolate chips.  You’ll still probably want to eat only one, maybe two, but you won’t be overwhelmed with a sickly sweetness of bad hot chocolate mix–I promise. 

I also like the slight chewiness from the oats.  But you guys know how I feel about oats in any form (very, very good, in case you actually don’t know).

And here’s part of the gorgeous sunset from last night!  Isn’t it beautiful? 

Today the weather is back up in the 80’s and I am subsequently enjoying a nice left-sided pink sunburn from when I fell asleep at the lake after our run this morning (2.5 miles–but not all continuously).  Have a peaceful day!

14 Comments

Filed under Desserts

14 responses to “Hot Chocolate Cookies

  1. Those look sooooo good. Perfect for when it starts getting cooler so I’m going to bookmark it to try some time. Honestly, how many of your recipes do I say that to? I want to try so many things you make!

  2. These look like a lot of fun. I bet they’d be awesome with a cup of cocoa this winter. Fun creation!

  3. Tasha Orshoff

    I like the idea….may save it for winter time.

  4. omg, these looks so so so good. and i can’t believe it uses only 1/3 cup of butter, it’s not that bad compared to so many other cookie recipes are insane. great job!

  5. These cookies are making me so excited for fall – love that marshmallow on top!

  6. Wow, these look so delicious! Every time I’ve seen a recipe for hot chocolate cookies they never look like hot chocolate cookies. But these look amazing!

  7. Pingback: FOODIE FRIDAYS: CHOCOLATE. « how my day just got better.

  8. brilliant! i’ve never heard of hot choco coookies and these look sooo good. i can’t wait to try. and i love that there are oats in them! thx, as always, for your awesome recipes!

Leave a Reply

