Cauldron Cupcakes for a Harry Potter Party

Oh yes, I went to a Harry Potter party.  And if you didn’t already know, I l-o-v-e Harry Potter.  The books and the movies, though if you are anybody with any sense, you’ll like the books better.

Just sayin’.

Anyway,a blog reader, aubrimichelle suggested that I make these cauldron cupcakes from The Pastry AffairOne look and I was smitten.  Aren’t you?

I started with a basic dark chocolate cupcake recipe–and no, it’s not healthy.  I figured that since I was bringing these babies to a party, and only planning on eating one, it’s fine to really splurge on the fun stuff.  It’s good to go all out once in a while, you know?

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes  (adapted from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook)  Makes 1 dozen cupcakes Printable Recipe Card

  • 1 stick (8 T) butter
  • 2 oz semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 C unsweetened Dutch cocoa powder
  • 3/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 1/2 C sour cream

Microwave the cocoa powder, chocolate chips, and butter (at low power!) for short intervals until melted, stirring often.  Don’t over do it, or your chocolate will go quickly into an unusable texture–and remember this tip, you’ll use it often with this recipe.  The slower the better when it comes to melting chocolate.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and oil cupcake tins.  In the mixer, beat the eggs and vanilla together and add the sugar.  Add the baking powder, soda, salt, and flour, mixing until just combined.  Fold in the sour cream and melted chocolate mixture until blended.

Fill the cupcake tins (2/3rds full) and bake for 15-20 minutes on the middle rack, until an inserted toothpick comes out with a few crumbs clinging to it.  Allow to cool completely.

Cauldron Cupcakes

  • 1 dozen cupcakes
  • chocolate glaze: 1 C chocolate chips and 4 T butter
  • 1/2 C chocolate chips (to pipe the handles) and for the cauldron feet
  • 1/2 C cauldron filling–I used vanilla frosting
  • yellow sprinkles for the filling decoration

While the cupcakes are baking and cooling, melt 1/2 C of chocolate chips in the microwave (slowly!), and scoop into a ziplock baggie.  Lay out a piece of wax paper on a flat surface, and cut a small corner of the baggie off.  Use the baggie to pipe handles for the “cauldrons” onto the wax paper.  They can’t be too thin, but you can make them whatever shape you want!  I used the extra chocolate to pipe some lightning bolts and an “HP” for additional decoration.  It’s probably a good idea to pipe a few extra handles, in case some of them break.  Allow the chocolate to harden completely, about 30 minutes, before carefully removing from the wax paper (you can speed the process along with the fridge).

Once the cupcakes are cool, use a sharp knife to carve a small cone out of the middle of the bottom of the cupcake.  To make cauldrons, you’ll be flipping the cupcake over and serving it bottoms up.

Make a chocolate glaze using 1 C of chocolate chips and 4 T of butter–melting slowly in the microwave and stirring frequently.  Dip the tops of the cupcakes in the glaze (this will form the cauldron bottom), using a spoon to help fill any missing spots.  Place three chocolate chips into glaze in a “tripod” position to form the feet of the cauldron.  Cool them right side up until the glaze sets (30 minutes, or a bit faster in the fridge).

Once the chocolate is set, flip the cupcakes upside down again and make another baggie to pipe the filling into the cones you cut out previously.  Cut the corner of the baggie a little larger this time.  Fill each cauldron and dust with yellow sprinkles.

Use any remaining chocolate glaze (or make more), remelting it if necessary, and pipe around the edges of each cauldron, surrounding the filling.  Carefully peel the prepared handles from the wax paper and gently press them into the frosting or glazed edges.  I also used a bit of glaze to stick a lighting bolt to the front of each cauldron.  Once again, allow the chocolate to set in the refrigerator before serving.

These were a big hit and really fun to make.  I love getting the chance to be a little more creative in the kitchen, instead of always making dinners that get quickly eaten and underappreciated.  And thanks to the creative mind at The Pastry Affair for the good idea.

Aren’t they fun?

Almost (almost) too good to eat.  But not quite.

I also made some chocolate pretzel wands–dipping pretzel rods in melted chocolate and decorating with Gryffindor-colored sprinkles.

I love Harry Potter parties!  

We also had butterbeer (cream soda with butterscotch snapps and whipped cream):

And Hermione stopped by to lounge poolside!

Overall, a complete success.

14 Comments

Filed under Desserts

14 responses to “Cauldron Cupcakes for a Harry Potter Party

  1. OMG, thats so cool. Making me hungry!

  2. Oh my gosh. HOW CUTE!!!! Those are absolutely PERFECT for a Harry Potter Party!

  3. florence

    Are you sure that we can eat them?They are so beautiful,I look at them but I don’t know if I touch them.It’s a good idea for a diet except if I can’t resist! And then , I eat all.So. I don’t know if I must say thank you or not.Today It’s not the cat , it’s the owl, original,but the cat is missing us.It is a star.Have a nice day.

    • It was very difficult for me to eat them, but once I decided to dive in it was worth it–actually quite delicious! And don’t worry, Henry shall return (he really is the star of this blog)

  4. A. I am suuupppper jealous you got to go to a Harry Potter party, i only have one friend living near me that appreciates the genius of J.K Rowling and despite my cajoling the boyfriend can barely sit through the films.
    B. I need to make these! but i am on a diet so at the moment i shall just have to live vicariously through the computer screen and pretend i scoffed the lot.

    • I will live vicariously through your Harry Potter-esque accent. I want to say “scoff the lot!” and not sound like I’m faking it!. Darn us Americans with our pathetic verbiage. And thank God Fritz has learned to love the movies…I’m trying to get him to read the books now.

  5. I don’t think my accent is posh enough to compare to most peoples ideals of a british accent. To my boyfriends credit he did buy the steelbook blu ray of the Harry Potter 7pt1 film annnd took me to see part 2 but i think that was probably due to my nagging and not his interest. so far he has declined my requests for a harry potter marathon so he can actually understand whats going on 😛

  6. Holly

    Oh my… They are bloody amazing! Top ten for effort Lauren – you should be very proud of yourself…
    I too, even though a late starter on the books, love the books. However, haven’t watched many of the films as I am not a fan… But seriously – what a great thing to take to a party!

  7. Wait, a minute… this is the BEST thing that I have ever seen. hahaha you are SO COOL. I wish I could have had the time/ guts to host a Harry Potter party like yours! I am making Butterbeer soon, how was your recipe!?

  8. Wow! Wow! Wow! These are really cool – for parties as well.

  9. Adorable!!!!, perfect for Harry Potter…..

  10. Carrie

    They look delicious Lauren! I wanna go to a Harry Potter party too! Haha, I saw it twice and cried both times. I love your photos of Henry – he is adorable! Can we borrow him for a day?

Leave a Reply

