Almond Oat Cookies

Only three more days until Fritz gets to take his test and then it is SUMMER!  Which is weird, because I’m already craving fall like nobody’s business.  I want apple pie.  I want cinnamon spice.  I want pumpkin…anything.  And knowing that the weather in Canada is going to be in the high 70s and 80s is just heaven.  Bring on the sweaters for those chilly nights, baby.

I also got around to baking cookies today!  I wanted a treat to go with tea, and I knew that Fritz could use a break from studying.  I also wanted to try using the almond flour that I got from Swanson Health Products, so when I found a recipe for almond oat cookies, I got right on board. 

Almond Oat Cookies (adapted from here) Printable Recipe Card

  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 1/4 C butter, melted
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 C rolled oats
  • 1/4 C almond flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • handful whole almonds

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Whip the egg and sugar together until light, then add the melted butter and vanilla.  Mix in the oats, almond flour, and baking powder and stir until combined.

Drop spoonfuls onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, giving them enough room to spread out (I didn’t really give them enough space).  I put one whole almond in the middle of each cookie, but you could also chop ’em and sprinkle them over the tops.

Bake them on the middle rack for about ten minutes until the bottom and edges are golden brown.  Allow them to cool on the baking sheet for about five or ten minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack. 

The absolute best part of these cookies are the crunchy, buttery, golden edges.

So gosh darn delicious.  Not to mention quick and easy–the recipe makes about a dozen big, thin, crunchy on the edges, soft in the middle cookies.  Perfect with tea or coffee.

The almond flavor from the almond meal is subtle but really, really good.

I also got to experience something fun today that I like to call “Big Cat in a Small Box”.  That cat really loves small and enclosed spaces.

He also loves standing inside the handle of bags.  Leave any bag lying around, and he’ll sneak over, snuggle his way into the handle, and just stand there until someone notices him.

Meow.

15 Comments

Filed under Desserts

15 responses to “Almond Oat Cookies

  1. Mmm, I’m so with you on those chilly nights. It’s sad, but I can’t wait!
    Your cookies look delicious! I love so many of the things you make, they all look so good. Add this one to my to-try list too!

  2. Scott

    After countless days of heat over 100 degrees in Missouri, I agree wholeheartedly about thoughts of fall–my favorite season. These look good, Lauren!

  3. florence

    Thanks for the recipe and……the cat!So good and so beautiful..

  4. This is my favourite kind of recipe for sure, basic crispy yumminess 🙂 And i adore baking with both oats an almond flour also so definitely saving this and it looks like a no-risk winner of a cookie 🙂 oh and that cat…cuttiieee!

  5. Holly

    Yay, Henry is back! Also, not to be too distracted your cookies look gorgeous – my GF would love these!
    I now realise – fall’s got to mean Autumn right?

  6. Cookies are divine…but kitty stole the show!
    Love, Wondercat x

  7. Scott

    Tried actually making these this afternoon. It may be the fact that it’s 106 degrees out, but I had a terrible time getting them off the parchment. One or two came off like in the photos, and the rest look like a great ice cream topping or something similar. Not regretting, though.

  8. Tasha Orshoff

    I love crunchy and I love almond, so these cookies look right up my alley!

  9. Hehe, one of our kitties likes to jump into suitcases as you are trying to pack them. It’s like she wants to go with you! 🙂 Your kitty is always such a cutie. 🙂

    Your recipes are AMAZING! I love that you used almond meal! That is so cool! 🙂

  10. Those look so good! Perfectly delicate and crispy! I love a good oatmeal cookei recipe!

  11. These look awesome! They look so crisp and tasty. Definitely need to try this recipe right away.

Leave a Reply

