Very Veggie Burgers

Vacation feels so weird–it’s really hard to allow myself to sleep in (until 8:30!) and read whole books and go to the gym whenever I want.  I feel like I’m letting a whole weekend go to waste without getting tons of stuff accomplished–I guess I’ve gotten used to cramming a lot of work into short weekends.

But I’m getting there.  Tomorrow I might even wake up late, make Fritz a glorious Sunday breakfast, and then sneak in a midday nap, just ’cause I can.

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at making veggie burgers (since they are so gosh-darn expensive to buy! Why is that?!), and with all my time off and beautiful weather outside, I knew today would be a good day for it.  Using inspiration from my mom, I remembered reading a blog post from Angela Liddon from Oh She Glows about the perfect veggie burger, and I decided to stick with the recipe from a self-proclaimed veggie burger perfectionist.

I just don’t have enough vegetarian experience to experiment on my own at this yet.

Very Veggie Burgers Printable Recipe Card

  • 1 C oats, ground to flour
  • 1 1/2 C bread crumbs (mine were Italian flavor)
  • 1 C grated carrot (I used the small hole on the grater)
  • 1 C cooked black beans, roughly mashed
  • 1/2 C sunflower seeds (roasted, unsalted)
  • 1/3 C chopped almonds (raw)
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 T soy sauce
  • 1 T olive oil
  • flax eggs: 2 1/2 T ground flaxseed in 1/2 C warm water
  • 1 1/2 t chili powder
  • 1 t ground cumin
  • 1 t oregano
  • 1/2 t salt

This recipe does take a lot of prep work to get all the ingredients ready, but once you’re there, it goes fast.

Combine all the ingredients and mix well–I started using a spoon but rapidly gave up and dove right in with my hands.  I was shocked and impressed by how delicious the dough was–yum.

Shape into eight large patties, packed really tightly.  To cook on the grill, pre-cook them a little bit in the oven first, so they maintain their shape.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and bake them on a greased baking sheet for fifteen minutes, flipping them once halfway through. 

Moving to the grill–cook them over medium heat, for just a few minutes on each side.  They’ll get gorgeous grill marks, and you can melt cheese over them once you flip ’em.  These patties are pretty stable, so you don’t have to worry about being too careful with them.

I was surprised by how much I loved these burgers.  As a meat-eater, I can attest that they don’t replace a juicy, freshly grilled beef burger, but they can hold their own in a separate category.  I can actually see myself eating these instead of burgers, since I really liked the taste, but I would never expect Fritz to do the same.

With ketchup, mustard, and cheese, these really hit the spot.  They are also really dense, and since I was starving I managed to eat two, but kinda regretted the second one later.  I was preeeetty full.

As for the texture, I give it a hearty thumbs up!  I wasn’t sure why the sunflower seeds and almonds were necessary, since meat burgers definitely aren’t crunchy, but as I started eating this one it made sense.  Without the nice textural crunch and chew, I think the burgers could rapidly head in the “too mushy” direction.  Ugh.  Reminds me of the first veggie burger I ever had–not the best.

In summary–worth the work and quite delicious! I can’t wait to have round two tomorrow.

12 Comments

Filed under Entrees, Vegetarian

12 responses to “Very Veggie Burgers

  1. Yum! I totally agree, veggie burgers and meat burgers are two completely different things, but I really love both. And these look awesome, especially with the cheese dripping down the side. Mmm 😀

  2. florence

    Where is the cat?

  3. Holly

    These look awesome and I’m always interested in anything good and burger shaped….
    I also follow florence’s comment – where’s the cat?

  4. Sarah J. Midgley

    If you are around next weekend the Green Planet Grocery is having a one year anniversary party, I believe from 11-5 on Friday and Saturday ( check their web site). They are giving away free things , having a raffle, speakers, and so on. I am heading down there on Saturday to check it out!

  5. Those sound AMAZING! I have been looking around for some veggie burger recipes and yours is by far the BEST! 🙂

  6. “veggie burgers” always make me a little skeptical, but these look really good! I try to cut back on carbs a bit though, do you think the bread crumbs could be decreased? they probably wouldn’t hold together quite as well…..

    • hey, you can always try…I found that when I was making the patties I could tell that they were going to hold together, so maybe try decreasing a little liquid and cutting out some bread crumbs. That way, if you start forming the patties and they are falling to pieces, you can just toss the rest of the breadcrumbs in. Better than wasting them! Maybe try using a cup and a half of black beans and only a cup of bread crumbs? Seems like a good place to start.

  7. Scott

    Lauren: I’m curious about your use of flax eggs. I try to make my recipes a bit healthier, and when I add yours to my “need to try” list, I usually adjust for health, for example, I’ll sub Eggbeaters (but I use generic) for flax eggs (in this case, it’s not to make it healthier, but quicker). And I use whole wheat bread crumbs and reduced-fat cheese on top. I also sometimes reduce the salt. I’m just wondering why you use flax eggs.

    I also find that when I make homemade Mexican food, I’m almost always left with about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of reduced-fat or fat-free vegetarian refrend beans or black beans. I like that this recipe offers a potential use for those.

    Another idea for you. I tried this tonight on regular beef burgers I got on a good sale at the supermarket this afternoon. When I went to light the grill, I noticed that my basil plant was taking over the back yard, so I pulled 2-3 large leaves off for each burger. I put that on the toasted whole wheat bun under the burgers as I removed them from the grill. It aded an excellent flavor boost that might be helpful in this sort of application. Grilling mostly is a summer thing in MO, and basil bushes being prolific also seems to be.

    • yum the basil sounds excellent! mine are also starting to take over the garden as well, so I love that idea. 🙂 In this instance I used the flax eggs because I didn’t want to mess with Angela Liddon’s vegan recipe, and have to worry about the burgers cooking fully inside and out with having real eggs in them, but often I use them in baking ’cause I like the taste, and it’s a nice way to get some of those omega-3s. My usual standard is to use eggs, though. I have some leftover beans in the fridge right now!…not sure what to do with them 🙂

  8. Pingback: Miscellany |

Leave a Reply

