Agave Julep Cocktail (because it’s 5:00 somewhere)

As my first post-finals blog, I figured it’s gotta be time to celebrate having over a month off from school by having a drink.  A really good drink.

I ran a lot of errands all morning, did some crafty things, and by then I had waited long enough.  And I found a recipe for an agave julep, which is basically combining two of my absolutely favorite cocktails–a margarita and a mojito.  Bring on the lime, mint, and tequila!

Agave Julep adapted from Hamlyn’s Cocktail Printable Recipe Card

  • 8 mint leaves
  • 1 T basil simple syrup
  • 1 1/4 measures tequila
  • 1 1/4 measures lime juice
  • crushed ice
  • mint to garnish

This drink went from just average to the best beverage to ever grace a glass by the swap of basil simple syrup for plain ol’ simple syrup.  You can see how to make it here.

Muddle the syrup and mint leaves in the bottom of the glass. 

Add the tequila, lime juice, and crushed ice and mix well.  Garnish it with a mint leaf or a wedge of lime and enjoy!

Sadly, since Fritz is still studying, he only got to taste a sip of mine. 

I loved this a lot, but I’m sure that doesn’t come as a surprise to anyone who knows about my fondness for a mojito.  I mean, that’s why I grow mint, after all.

Just in case you were wondering, this drink is called an agave julep because tequila is made from agave plants.  If you use gold tequila, it has been aged longer for a more intense flavor.

While some of us are off drinking, Henry has had some intense play goin’ on over the last few hours.  Yesterday I saw him catch a fly from midair (and was sufficiently grossed out when he ate it!), and today we witnessed a faceoff between him and his new favorite toy.

This dinosaur has been lying around for the past few years, and Henry found it and named it his worst enemy.  Since then, several battles worthy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2 have been fought on our home turf.

Don’t you just love the look on the dinosaur’s face? Ha!

And of course, CSA box number nine was picked up yesterday:

I plan on using the week off that I have in between now and vacation to completely clean and reorganize the house like it’s never been done before–I’ll be sure to treat you to some photos.

8 Comments

Filed under Beverages

8 responses to “Agave Julep Cocktail (because it’s 5:00 somewhere)

  1. Hehe, HENRY CONQUEERS! 😀 Cats are so much better than dinosaurs. 🙂

  2. So dies a “Dino-saver”, it’s like the end of an era (but there’s about 40 more where that came from). I’m also cleaning the basement and the upstairs rooms – so I guess I won’t send the stuff your way. Does this mean you aren’t heeding Kristen’s call to Boston?

  3. Tasha Orshoff

    I have to try this! Those are my 2 favorite drinks too! That’s the reason I grow mint! Can’t wait to try it! Yum! Thank you!!!

  4. ANET BURGER

    When we have summer again in South Africa, I will surely try your refreshing celebrating cocktail. Until then here in Darling we stick to red wine , sherry, rich bredies(like stew) and lots of chocolate!
    Envy your holiday to Canada and the family. Love. Anet

  5. Holly

    Woo – congrats on finishing! enjoy every minute!

  6. Pingback: Agave Julep Cocktail

  7. the cat is so cute!

    softandstiffpeaks.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

