Iced Coffee…with Teeth

Whew.  It was a serious scorcher today.

It’s been 90-95 degrees inside our apartment all day, which is actually a relief when you compare it to the heat index of 107 degrees outside.  Thank goodness for air conditioners, even when they can hardly keep up.

Needless to say, Fritz and I have both been studying our hineys off today, and I decided to make him a midday treat as a little pick-me-up with a simultaneous cool-me-down.

You know he’s been studying a minimum of four hours every day for the past two months for his dental Board exams, right?  He has to pass the Boards part 1 to be able to take the Boards part 2 in order to become a full-blown dentist.  It’s also a good idea to do really well on part 1 if you want to specialize, which Fritz does.  It’s quite a bit of pressure to handle when all you want to do is relax and have a summer break.

Iced coffee, it is. 

But not just any ice coffee.  Iced coffee with teeth in it.

Fritz’s parents gave him teeth ice-cube molds as a gag gift a while ago, and I unearthed them and secretly froze milk in them.  Milk, because it’s white and looks like teeth…ya know?  I stuck them in a freezer baggie and bode my time until the perfect moment.

For the iced coffee, I just double-brewed the coffee (double the amount of coffee with the same amount of water that you’d usually use for one cup), poured it over lots of ice, a little milk, and a teensy bit of sugar (we usually drink our coffee and tea without sugar, but we needed it today).

Then the teeth.

I put one icy set of choppers in each drink, and they floated perfectly on the top as they began to melt.

Fritz totally cracked up when he saw it–mission accomplished!

So many other amusing beverages can be made in the future.  We also have molds for dinosaur bones and hearts, so I see a lot of potential here.

And once my finals are over (or hey, maybe tomorrow)–hello, mixed drinks!

13 Comments

Filed under Beverages

13 responses to “Iced Coffee…with Teeth

  1. Hahaha! Love the teeth. Also love the beaker mug. You should study by the pool so you can jump in every other minute. Good luck to both of you with your tests – vacation will be SO MUCH FUN when the tests are behind you!

  2. Kristen

    AHAHA the teeth look great!!!

  3. Hahaha! Looks so funny. I don’t what to say because I’m surprised with the teeth. I thought it’s a true thing. haha. I will show this to my friends and definitely they will laugh at this.

  4. Lisa

    I love the teeth! You should have had your camera ready for his reaction! Miss you!

    ❤ Lisa

  5. I love the teeth idea. So nice. You guys are cool!

    teeth Tam 😀

  6. How fun are these!! My kids would love those frozen teeth!

  7. Tasha Orshoff

    This just cracked me up! I would say it would be good for Halloween!

  8. Holly

    This is an awesome post! I didn’t know what to expect but it’s awesome… I now really want some comical ice trays!

  9. I think you are on to something here. But please do not be ‘teething’ us!

  10. You’re a great friend. but, if i were to drink that coffee, I may not drink it. It’s looks yuck that you see a false teeth floating on your coffee. But because i know that it was just molded, and is made from milk, well it’s a great idea.

  11. kat

    oh my gosh, that is the cutest idea I have ever seen!! definitely going to go out and buy silly molds 🙂

Leave a Reply

