Basil Lime Pesto

I did promise another basil recipe for you today.  And when I make a promise, I most often deliver.  Probably around 88% of the time.

I’m a busy lady.

You guys lucked out this time–mostly ’cause the basil was wilting, limes were dessicating, and the pesto clock was running out of time.  Fritz isn’t a huge garlic fan, so I decided to leave it out and use lime for that special kick.

The limes may or may not have been leftover from some margaritas I made on Tuesday.  Don’t judge me.

Basil Lime Pesto  Printable Recipe Card

  • 2 C tightly packed basil–it looks like a lot when it’s not packed
  • 1/4 C walnuts
  • 1/4 C Parmesan cheese
  • 1/3 C olive oil
  • 1 t salt
  • juice and zest from 2 limes

One of the best things about pesto is how quick it is.  Combine all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.  It’s okay to have some nice basil and walnut flecks in there so it looks pretty, too.

It might taste a little salty (you can start with 1/2 t salt and add more as you like), but don’t forget that a little bit of pesto goes a long way on pasta and other dishes–it won’t taste as salty when you are using it.

Either freeze for long-term storage (I use ice-cube trays for single serving sizes, then transfer to a zip-lock), or keep it in the fridge for a few days (maybe a week with all the lime juice?  I’ll let you know).

The other nice thing besides the ease of making pesto is its versatility–use on sandwiches, with pasta, in a tomato salad, on roasted chickpeas, in soups, with eggs…anything, really.  And the lime is a totally nice change from garlic–brighter.  Summery.  Margarita-y (just kidding!).

I’ll probably freeze half of this recipe (it made about 1 1/2-2 cups) and use the rest over the weekend.  Yum–possibly on top of some grilled veggies?  Part of a steak marinade?  So many ideas!

I received an exciting new box in the mail today containing a new lens that we (okay, I) bought!  I had it out for literally only a few minutes, so I obviously still have a lot to learn on it, but here’s what a few shots look like:

It’s a Sigma f1.4 50mm prime lens–you’ll be seeing a lot more from it later this weekend as I take time to play with it.

The Jensens are coming over for s’mores in a few, so get out there and enjoy the night!

7 Comments

Filed under Sauces

7 responses to “Basil Lime Pesto

  1. yum reading your blog always leaves me with cravings, I’m going to have to look out for some pesto ingredients when i go shopping later 🙂 thanks x

  2. You have a great blog 🙂 Glad to find it ! I absolutely love pesto with basil .. with lime it will taste awsm.

  3. Gorgeous pics!! Have fun playing with your new lens.

  4. I’ve got a ton of basil from my CSA and I’ve been timid about making pesto with it because it didn’t want to use garlic. I’m going to try this without the cheese and I’ll let you know how it turns out. It looks so great!

Leave a Reply

