Cinnamon Streusel Zucchini Bread

I am totally in love with the weekend.  Fritz and I zipped through quite a bit of our (lengthy) to-do list, and I still had time to do some reading, make this bread, and am now making pizza for dinner!

One is a veggie pizza with red sauce (broccoli and green onion from our CSA box) and the other is a white pizza with pesto, ham, and fresh-picked basil.  The pizza dough is resting as we speak and the pizza stone is heating up in the oven.  Sometimes it’s really nice to make dinner and not blog it–I can move quickly, not worry about making a mess, and also not care a whit that it’s raining outside and my light is rapidly disappearing.  Not to mention Fritz will actually get to eat hot food for once!

Today was also Fritz’s first time ever having zucchini bread–and now he is one step closer to being a real American.

Cinnamon Streusel Zucchini Bread (adapted from Oh She Glows) Cinnamon Streusel Zucchini Loaf Printable Card

  • 2 C flour–I used 1 C white and 1 C whole-wheat
  • 2 T wheat germ
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/3 C each raisins and chopped walnuts
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 C shredded zucchini (just wash it, but leave the skin on)
  • 1 T maple syrup
  • 1 1/4 C skim milk

For the topping:

  • 2 T flour
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 T butter

This is a quick and easy recipe to throw together, with an impressive taste.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and oil a loaf pan, then line it with parchment paper (makes it much easier to get the dang thing out).

I just love the way a loaf pan looks, all ready to go.  So full of possibility.

In a mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients (flour, wheat germ, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar, raisins, and walnuts.  Give them a quick stir, then add the rest of the ingredients (except for the stuff for the topping…duh).  Mix until combined and relatively lump-free (I mean, there are raisins in there and stuff), then pour into the loaf pan.

For the topping, use a fork to squish all the ingredients around until they form large crumbs, then drop over the top of the bread batter.

Bake on a middle rack in your oven until an inserted skewer comes out dry and it is a totally gorg deep brown, about an hour.  Remove and cool before slicing (riiiiiight…).  My topping sank down a bit into the loaf while baking, which actually made for a nice suprise during the subsequent consumption.

Serve this baby with butter, and iced coffee left over from the dregs of your husband’s earlier pot.  Yum.  A new and rare indulgence.

I handed a plate with a piece of bread on it to Fritz while he was locked away in our bedroom studying, and he came dashing out of the room looking incredulous.  “Zucchini!”, he cried.  “Such a moist loaf with the glorious textural addition of walnuts!”

Or something like that.  Needless to say, he really liked it.

He’s a real American now.

16 Comments

Filed under Breads

16 responses to “Cinnamon Streusel Zucchini Bread

  1. Yummy! I love zucchini bread 😀 I’ve really been craving some lately and I love those spices in there. Looks delicious!

  2. I recently made zucchini bread but it never occurred to me to put streusel on top. What a delicious idea. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your bread up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/07/sweets-for-saturday-25.html

  3. Yum! I can’t wait to make this.

  4. Ashley

    You have to post a a recipe for your pizza dough!!! Danny and I are dying to make our own pizza’s at home, but we like really thin crust. Next time you make pizza you have to blog about it!!! I’m dying for pizza at home! lol and loooove zucchini bread by the way!

  5. Yet to have a zucchini cake or bread…i know, sad huh! But i really would love to try my hand at making it some day as they look and sound scrummy, yours especially! If i do finnalllyyy get round to making one I hope to give this recipe a try, I think your beautiful photos swung it for me 🙂 oh yes, can i ask what size your loaf pan is? Im in the UK and sometimes pans can vary a bit i think, so best be on the safe side!

  6. Amanda

    This recipe looks amazing! I love that there’s very little added fat and sugar—who needs it with zucchini and raisins to keep things moist and sweet? And cinnamon streusel! Heavenly. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  7. Have I ever told you how much I love your blog?

  8. Yummmmm! I’m proud to be an American who loves zucchini bread. 😉 The cinnamon streusel on this bread looks amazingggg! 🙂

  9. LOVE this! And love that it’s healthy with all that zucchini 😉

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  10. Kory

    I loved this bread! I added about 1/4 cup of fat free plain yogurt and 1/4 cup of apple sauce and it came out great! Sadly, it did take a little longer to cook; however, the moist results were definitely worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

