Carrot Cake Green Monster

Sick of green monsters yet, are ya?  Well, if you need to switch it up (and if you are anything like me, and you like your breakfasts to taste like dessert), than boy have I got the recipe for you.

But first I want to show you what we got in our CSA box number six this week (get ready, it’s a good one):

So yes, I see some more carrot cake green monsters in my future.  And speaking of them, here’s the recipe!

Carrot Cake Green Monster (Carrot Cake Green Monster Printable Card)

  • 2 small carrots and their greens, or one large carrot and its greens, or spinach to substitute for carrot greens
  • 1 ripe banana (mine was frozen)
  • 1/2 C skim milk, 1/2 C water (or 1 C skim milk, or 1 C water…)
  • 1/8 C old-fashioned dry oats
  • 1 T hemp powder (optional, obvy)
  • 1 T Carnation instant breakfast (I started using these up to get rid of them, and now I actually like a little in my green monsters–you could also use protein powder, or just skip it)
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 4-5 ice cubes

Layer the way we always do: liquids, oatmeal, and powders on the bottom, then leafy greens/carrots, then bananas and ice cubes on top.  The heavy stuff on top helps weigh the leaves into the blender mechanism.  Blend away until smooth.

Top with a sprinkle of extra cinnamon, and indulge yourself.  Cake.  For breakfast.  Drinkable cake.

It really does taste a lot like carrot cake!  Fritz requested to have one of these, and it was a nice change from peanut butter (but don’t worry, peanut butter green monster–you’ll always be my number one).

And yes, carrot greens are edible!  Some people are allergic to them, but if you aren’t, then try ’em.  They taste a little like carrot-y parsley, and definitely make the carrot cake green monster more carrot cake-y.  If you go to a farmer’s market, you can usually find carrots with their greens.

I also have been eating them in salads–just be sure to chop them finely to avoid any unpleasant throat scratching from their weird shape (just like curly kale or parsley).

So how’s studying going?  Pretty well.  Henry finds it to be pretty boring, though, and is falling asleep all over the place:

You know it’s sad when I’d rather watch my cat fall asleep than study.  But don’t worry, he’s not sleeping all the time.  Still plenty of time for this:

15 Comments

Filed under Beverages

15 responses to “Carrot Cake Green Monster

  1. Oh my gosh. Henry is such the artist! He makes that box worth so much more! 😉 Haha, he is such a cutie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Carrot Cake Smoothie? With greens in it? I’m in!

  2. Holly

    I want a cat. I want to move to a house with a garden just so I can have a cat! I am so jealous… ps, recipe looks good to!

    • having a cat has definitely enriched my life 10fold at least…even though he’s annoying and wakes us up at 5:30 every morning, it’s worth it ’cause he makes us laugh throughout the entire day. and then that cuddle before bed. sigh.

  3. tharrie

    What about somr catnip-monster for mr.Henry….very clear to ALL of us that he is NOT included in the index of your recipes!

  4. anjobanjo22

    Wow…I think I may have to be a little braver than usual to try this one…but I wouldn’t mind that. 🙂

  5. I actually just started drinking green monsters… And already, I’m in love! 🙂

  6. haha that last pic is priceless!!

    Love carrot cake smoothies. I’ve made some without greens and they are a gorgeous orange colour. So good! Coconut milk is really good in them too.

  7. That looks delicious! I’m definitely going to have to try making one very soon!

  8. Pingback: Glamour Magazine! | A Full Measure of Happiness

  9. Pingback: veggie CSA, no. 5, 2011 « Awesomesauce Eats

  10. Pingback: You’re so smoothie. « Post(ing)-Its

Leave a Reply

