Classic Lime Margarita

Somehow it seems that every time I visit my parent’s house, I end up blogging about a really delicious alcoholic drink that we decided to make.  Remember the white summery sangria of a few weeks ago?

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

We spent all day traveling yesterday (after a morning of class, of course), which is why there was no blog entry.  But because I like to share so many parts of my life, you can see how the little guy gets to ride in style.  Henry basically gets the entire back seat set up (food, water, litter box, crate) for his every need, and he rotates between sitting on my lap in the front, to his little driving oasis in the back.

It’s really the life.

Then today, we went white water rafting!  Mom, Dad, Fritz and I all braved the open seas and had a complete blast!  I was a little (read: a lot) frightened, but it wasn’t as terrifying as I anticipated and ended up actually being really fun and relaxing (but not at the same time).  Fritz and Mom got tossed out of the boat during the rapids aptly named “The Cruncher”, but other than that, no scary incidents.

I also thought I’d post this picture so you all can enjoy my arm muscles.

So it’s a little vain.  Get over it–I’m proud of those new guys!

And we ended the day with a quick wine tasting and a fun Mexican-themed night complete with margaritas and soft tacos.

Classic Lime Margarita (from Confections of a Foodie Bride)

Classic Lime Margarita Printable Recipe Card

I doubled this recipe to make a giant pitcher, which could easily serve 6-10 people more than enough margaritas–depending on how many is more than enough.  You could easily cut this recipe in half, or double it like I did.

  • 2 C water 
  • 1 C sugar
  • 2 C lime juice (that’s a heck of a lot of limes!)
  • 1 C triple sec
  • 1 C tequila
  • ice
  • lime wedges for garnish

Combine the water and sugar in a small saucepan and bring to a simmer, until the sugar is dissolved.  Pour over the lime juice, and add the triple sec and tequila.  Serve chilled, over ice, garnished with lime wedges.

This was the perfect amount of sweet and lime–we were so happy to not have bought a margarita mix!  Sometimes doing it the right way is just as quick but tastes twice as good.

They also went perfectly with our salad and soft tacos.  On the side,  I made salsa from an old recipe of mine that I started using in high school–you’ll see that soon.

What’s your favorite summer drink recipe?

3 Comments

Filed under Beverages

3 responses to “Classic Lime Margarita

  1. Holly

    This looks fab! Although my GF’s recent trip to Vegas has meant she has vowed never to drink tequila again so Margarita’s may be off the cards this summer.
    My favourite summer drinks: Pimms with strawberries and cucumber, Hendricks gin and tonic (again must add cucumber), Prosecco!!

  2. I love a classic margarita, and all the better with a feast of Mexican food!

  3. We used to arrange the back seat for my cat but how did you the water part? Looks like a really fun trip.

Leave a Reply

