Sweet ‘N’ Sour Cabbage

Can you believe that it is week five of my CSA box already?  I have probably tripled (at least) my greens intake over the last month, and I have to tell you, I have never felt so great.  I have a green monster every day (either for breakfast or lunch), then usually a big salad (lunch or dinner), and of course there are always more veggies on the side of whatever fancy dinner I feel like making.  I am constantly finding ways to use all the fresh vegetables in the fridge in ways that are different and exciting and filling.

It’s been quite a fun adventure so far!  Here’s what came in the box this week:

Fritz and I are traveling to my parents’ house in upstate NY tomorrow for the long weekend, so we’ll have help finishing off all these vegetables from all of our family and friends.  We’ll need the energy, because my mom informed me that she booked us for a level III/IV white water rafting trip on Friday.

I’m scared.  I’m also glad that Fritz is a certified lifeguard.

So with all the vegetables from the CSA lying around, I can’t attempt to explain what would possess me to stop at the farm stand and buy more other than that I found a really yummy looking recipe I was dying to try.  So here it is:

Sweet ‘N’ Sour Cabbage  (adapted from You Can Trust a Skinny Cook by Allison Fishman)  Sweet ‘N’ Sour Cabbage Printable Recipe Card

  • 1 small head of red cabbage, shredded (I’ll show you how!)
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 1 T vegetable oil
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1/2 C water
  • 2 t salt
  • 1 t fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/3 C red wine vinegar

To shred the cabbage, rinse and remove the outer wilty layers.  Trim the stalk end, then slice in half vertically.  Place on half cut-side down, and slice horizonally very thinly starting at the end opposite the stalk.  Voila!  Shredded cabbage.

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat and cook the onion until softened.  Add the cabbage, sugar, salt, thyme, and water, and stir.  Partially cover and allow to cook until the cabbage is softened, about half an hour.  Check the cabbage frequently enough to make sure there is enough water. 

Remove from the heat and admire.  Once you add the vinegar, the cabbage will turn from deep purple to a more bright red color, through some magical chemical reaction that I’m sure my mom knows all about (something about acidity, I’d wager a guess).

Add more salt to taste if desired, and store in a jar in the fridge–you can also add red pepper flakes.  I forgot, but I may toss in a pinch when I have this as part of my lunch tomorrow.

Perfectly sweet and tangy without being overpowering.

You can eat this warm or cold, alone or on a salad, or next to a big chunk o’ meat.

Speaking of meat, I need to make a meal with some real soon.  Fritz asked me sadly today if we are turning into vegetarians (ha!).  I don’t realize how little meat we are eating, because I usually have some in my salad every day.  Sorry Fritz! (By the way, I put some sliced ham into the Cheesy Peasy Couscous from yesterday to give to Fritz for dinner today, and he was mollified).

Anyway, I have a big urge to lie down and read (I started Mansfield Park today) and I also have to finish (…or start) packing for our weekend.  Au revoir!

14 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

14 responses to “Sweet ‘N’ Sour Cabbage

  1. Oooooohhh, you are REALLY going to enjoy Mansfield Park! 😀

  2. Could you explain the whole CSA box thing to me? I don’t know if maybe I live in too city-fied an area,but, while I get the general idea of “You get cool veg delivered weekly”, I’ve never heard of this before. Each of your posts about the new box have made me more intrigued… I think i’d like to get random vegetables delivered to me 🙂

    • definitely! you sign up with a farm in your area (it’s a local thing) for the community supported agriculture (CSA) program, and pay in advance (I paid around $500 for 26 weeks of veggie boxes). Every week, the farm sets up the boxes with 6-10 types of veggies and they deliver the boxes to a pick-up area. All the people who have signed up for the CSA go collect their weekly “share”, which is what the box is called. You don’t know whats going to be in the boxes until you get them, but they promise a variety week to week. Basically you are supporting the farm and getting a farmer’s market of local and organic (though not all CSAs are organic) delivered to your town, which you pick up! It’s nice because all your vegetables are as fresh as possible, and in season–therefore you are getting the maximum health benefits. There are a lot of these programs even in pretty city-fied areas 🙂 Some farms also have a fruit share during the summer that you can sign up for. Here’s the link with the farm I use: http://www.goldenearthworm.com/what-is-csa/ So far, I love it!

      • thanks!
        I really love the idea… I’m going to have to look into it, especially with the potential for a fruit box as well. I have gone far out of my way to get fresh ontario peaches before 🙂
        And I also like the price-point… a big quantity all at once, but a really reasonable price when you break it down by weeks.

      • definitely…and when you suddenly have all these vegetables to use up, the rest of your grocery bill will go down! definitely happened for us 🙂 Our vegetable share included strawberries and melons, which I was extra excited about 🙂

  3. Mmm, my mom makes something very similar to this and she always serves it beside this german meat dish that I can’t remember the name of. So yummy 🙂 I love the color of it!

  4. I love the vibrant colors of cabbage!

  5. Your vegetable pictures are so beautiful! I love how nature provides us with exactly what we need to feel amazing. And in such a pretty package 🙂 Thanks for sharing your great recipes and insight into eating right!

    love,
    B

    http://bpositivebfree.blogspot.com

  6. I made something similar from an old community cookbook. It was so good, but made a giant pot full! I think red cabbage is so unappreciated. Thanks for this!

  7. So now I finally learned that ‘cavolo toscano’ is Toscano kale in English. I buy it a lot and never knew what to call it in English. Love the poictures of the cabbage, stunning vegetable isn’t it?

  8. Pingback: Chicken & Radicchio Pasta Salad | A Full Measure of Happiness

Leave a Reply

