Lemon Poppy Seed Oatmeal Cookies

Hello, friends!

I finally made time to bake, even though for a while it looked like it may not happen.  I dragged my achy and sore body to the gym this morning, got energized, then donated blood and painted faces at our church’s yard sale.

Turns out I’m not the best face painter.  Just not that artistic in the world of painting–I pity the children who are wearing crowns and Elmos that I painted on them.  I did, however, manage to break out my favorite thing to draw/paint.  Those of you who know me well know that I’ve been tattooing this heart around the world for years.  It’s the one work of art I’ve truly mastered.

Impressive, huh?  Unfortunately, it wasn’t highly demanded among the 3-8 year olds who visited today.  I’d actually say it ranked somewhere below the six-legged spider and the pink football.

By the time we got home from face painting, I collapsed diagonally on the bed, feet hanging off and face smashed into the blankets in a dramatic display of exhaustion.  And then I fell asleep.  For two hours.  And awoke with a deeply imprinted blanket design on my entire face.

Luckily, there was still time to make cookies!

The taste of these cookies is fantastic, but I sleepily adapted them from a vegan website and realized halfway through scooping them onto the cookie sheet that there was no way they would hold together, which turned out to be true.  If I made them again, I’d definitely do some recipe tweaking to add a bit of flour and definitely an egg.  Any recipe magicians out there want to give it a try, let me know how it turns out!

Lemon Poppy Seed Oatmeal Cookies (original recipe here and printable card here: Lemon Poppy Seed Oatmeal Cookies)

  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1/4 C lemon juice and the zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/4 C poppy seeds
  • 1/4 C butter, softened
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  I creamed the butter and sugar together quickly with the vanilla, lemon juice and zest.

Next, I added the banana, poppy seeds, salt, baking powder, and baking soda.  Mix until just combined, then add in the oats.  I also tossed in a T or so of ground flax seed at the last minute.

Don’t over mix!  Scoop spoonfuls onto greased baking sheets (I did 1 T-sized scoops) and bake until browned, about 15 minutes. 

Let them cool on the sheets before removing, because they will definitely fall apart otherwise, and then you’ll be forced to eat all the crumbled up bits.

Like I said, the flavor of these cookies is unbelievable, and the texture with the oats and the poppy seeds is also great–just the actual cookie stability needs a bit of work.  But the taste!  Definitely worth posting, and trying.

Fritz was also a huge fan (but when isn’t he, really?).  He just at three more for a post-dinner snack.

 Here’s a few more pictures from the yard sale for you to enjoy:

12 Comments

Filed under Desserts

12 responses to “Lemon Poppy Seed Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Oh YUM!!! You cookies are the BEST!! 😀 Your pictures are GORGOUS

  2. Wow, these look really delicious. I love a lemon and poppyseed combination, but put into an oatmeal cookie makes it even better. Lovely photos too!

  3. Thought I knew you well…didn’t remember the heart tattoo. Is that what you’re getting post graduation? 🙂 Perhaps I’ll try the cookies today – I’ll do a non-vegan version and send you an update – maybe even a picture.

  4. Karen

    I don’t know if you need the egg since that’s what the banana’s in there for, but if you are going to use butter, up it to 1/3 of a cup from the 1/4c of oil. the cookies fell apart b/c you didn’t have enough liquid (oil). good luck!

  5. Pingback: Lemon Oatmeal Cookies | Pafos Photos

  6. I got the cookies to solidify by making a flax “egg” (beating 1 tbsp flax meal with 3 tbsp water until it reaches as egg-like consistency) and adding 2/3 c flour.

    I also made them vegan by substituting Earth Balance for the butter.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Pingback: sajtkukac » Blog Archive » Citromos mákos keksz zabpehellyel – reggeli fejtörésre

Leave a Reply

