Gingery Bok Choy

So much to talk about!

I guess I’ll have to split it up over a couple of days, ’cause I have some serious test-age coming up this week, and I need to start studying as of three days ago.  So this’ll have to be quick.

We had a mini-BBQ on saturday, and our favorite LI couple, the Jensens, came over to hang out.  They were later joined by Carrie and Mike, and we had a blast just running around and playing (well, the boys did), eating, and taking pictures.

That night, we picked up Fritz’s parents from the airport and his sister from the train station, and a Zietsman fest commenced.  More on that later.

Off in the land of food, I had some CSA loose ends to tie up (meaning: greens to use up before they went bad), and I searched for a quick ‘n’ easy bok choy side dish recipe that only used ingredients I already had in stock, and preferably one that used only a few of said ingredients.  Success.

Gingery Bok Choy  (serves 2-4, original recipe here)

  • 1 lb baby bok choy (the grown-up kind is okay, too)
  • 1 t canola oil
  • 1″ piece of ginger, peeled and minced or grated
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced (I used dried–I know, shame on me)
  • salt to taste

Most important part–cut off the ends of the bok choy and submerge all the leaves in water.  This is vital especially if you got your veggies from a CSA or farmer’s market, ’cause there’s a lot of grit in there that I assume you’d rather not eat.  Leave it in there for a few minutes, swish it around, drain, and rinse one more time.

In a cold wok/pan, add the canola oil, ginger, and garlic and place over medium heat.  I learned this today–start with a cold pan because otherwise the ginger and garlic will burn really fast.  This is especially true for me since I used dried garlic, which is halfway to burnt anyway.

Once it starts to sizzle, add the bok choy leaves and stir it around, allowing the leaves to get nice and tender.  This should only take a few minutes.  Then boom!  You’re done!  Season with salt to taste.

I love easy recipes like this.

Plus, it sounds fancy because it’s made with bok choy.  Most people have never seen or eaten bok choy (but they should! It’s delicious!).  I love ginger, but even if you don’t, give this a try.  The ginger isn’t overwhelming and goes really well with the garlic.

Oh–someone wants to say hi.

It’s been a while.  He’s feeling much better and back to his evil, biting, cuddling, purring, sleeping on my neck all night long self.  So glad to have him back to normal!

Leave a comment

Filed under Side Dishes

Leave a Reply

