Greens, Egg, and Ham Salad

Catchy title, huh?  I thought of it on my drive home from the gym as I was contemplating what I was going to immediately make for dinner.  Because I’m one of those people who thinks about what they are going to eat the second they wake up, throughout class, at the gym, in the shower, etc.  I really just love food.  And planning food.  But mostly eating it.

My workout today was great–recently, the gym I go to got some new giant StairMasters and a Jacob’s Ladder, both of which are new and fun ways for me to get some more cardio in.  I had realized lately that I wasn’t getting quite enough of that heart-rate increasing, quad and hamstring burning cardio, so it was perfect timing for some new equipment.  I also warmed up today by running a mile and sprinting the last 0.15 of it, and it was surprisingly easy!  Seems like my workouts lately have paid off.

Also, I’m starting to get triceps!  Real ones!  I was driving the other day and I rubbed an itch on my arm–surprise!  Triceps!  Usually I have to try really hard to notice them even when I’m flexing, so it was nice to find them just hangin’ out while I’m all relaxed.

How dorky is it that I’m so excited by this?  I’m not sure how apparent it is to people just looking at me, but that doesn’t really matter in the greater scheme of things, does it?

Anyway, back to the salad.  I knew I had some greens hangin’ around, but I was craving protein, so I decided to be all foodie-trendy and add a fried egg to the top.  The nicest part?  With the addition of warm ham and eggs, the spinach wilted a bit–and no dressing needed, since I like my eggs runny.

Greens, Egg, and Ham Salad

  • 2 handfuls baby spinach
  • 1/3 C diced ham (I had some in the freezer that I just reheated in the microwave)
  • 1 fried egg, cooked to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste (that means lots of black pepper for me!)

I don’t think I need to go into detail on how to actually put together this salad.

Baby spinach:

Topped with warm ham:

And a fried egg with S&P:

I also popped it in the microwave for ten seconds to encourage the wilting of the spinach.  Cheating, I know, but part of food blogging means all your food gets cold while you are taking photos, and the spinach isn’t likely to wilt on its own.  Gotta give it a little help.

This was so good!  I gave Fritz a taste, and he also really liked it!  It helped that the ham was really savory, but the runny egg on the top was the piece de resistance.  Now I understand why all the food magazines I’ve seen lately are all over this.  Definitely an easy way to bulk up a boring and really simple salad!

We ate outside because at 7:00 or so when it was all ready, the weather was that perfect slightly-dim-outside just-cooling-down perfection that is summer nights.  Anytime we’re outside on the deck, Henry stands on the table and meows sadly because he’s been left out–even if we’re just outside for a few seconds to grill.

Probably the most adorable thing ever.  Those pictures are from two different days–the one on the left is from when Fritz grilled turkey burgers with pineapple (delicious, by the way) and on the right from today.

One more summer update–we switched from the warm, bulky, winter comforter to the light, bright, summer comforter!  Doesn’t it look so peaceful and refreshing?  I love the bright colors and busy patterns of our other Anthropologie comforter, but sometimes it’s nice to switch over the clean and white.  It just looks so calming and fresh.

Tomorrow we are going to visit some of our favorite people, Zev and Breanna, before they move far, far away!  So sad to see good friends leave, but they are moving on to a new and exciting chapter of their lives (involving lots of graduate school), so we are happy for them.  Anytime I see people move, I get a little jealous because I love that exciting transitional period of finding yourselves in a new place.

It also might have to do with the fact that they will be much closer to my mom and dad than we are.  But that’s all the more reason to visit later!

4 Comments

Filed under Salads

4 responses to “Greens, Egg, and Ham Salad

  1. that salad looks delicious
    xoxo
    bB
    please stop by and say hi
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. Your kitty is too cute!

    I’m so excited for you with your triceps! 🙂

  3. I know what you mean about the triceps. Congrats on noticing them pop! haha. I always get jealous when I see girls with well defined triceps. I gotta start working harder on mine… lol.

  4. Paulien van den Burg

    And I know what you mean when you say you’re one of those people who think of what you’re going to eat – almost all day long! I’m famous for it among my friends, it’s a miracle I don’t weigh 200 pounds yet. But a bit more muscles wouldn’t hurt (I’m not even sure Í have triceps actually, ha), so good for you.

Leave a Reply

