Gingery Green Monster

I’m so glad that I reintroduced myself to green monsters a while back, because I have a feeling that they are going to be a big, big part of my life this summer.  And today it was hot!  Perfect day for a cold green monster with a serious kick.

Gingery Green Monster

  • 1 C cold water
  • 4-5 ice cubes
  • 1/2 -1″ piece of ginger, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 handfuls baby spinach
  • 1 -1 1/2 C frozen fruit (I used pineapple, mango, and peach)
  • 1 t sugar

Layer all of the ingredients in the blender as listed (except for the sugar, which you can decide if and how much to use), and give it a go!

I started off without using any sugar, but I decided to add a bit just to cut the bite of the ginger a bit.  If I had a really ripe banana around, I would have used that and I’m sure it would have been just perfect.

Pour into a glass and you are good to go!  This actually made about a serving and a half, but because it’s so low-calorie (no milk or protein powder in this one), I drank both–the small glass as I was getting ready and the travel mug once I got to school.

Now, please don’t say that I didn’t warn you!  This drink is not for the faint of heart–and if you don’t like ginger, you might want to run in the other direction.  But if you’re like me, and there’s never too much ginger, than go for it.  Plus, ginger is nature’s Pepto Bismol, so if you have upset tummy problems, you might want to try this!  When I took the first few sips, I wasn’t quite sure if I liked it or not, but by the time I got to school, I downed the whole mug in about 30 seconds.  It was really, really good, and so refreshing.

Tomorrow’s green monster might involve coffee–I’ve been thinking of other flavors to make so that I don’t get bored!

Fritz just finished dinner–he made grilled turkey burgers with charred pineapple rings and grilled corn on the cob.

Does that sound good or what?

And tomorrow is my last day of case studies week, then I have a week off.  I’m going to see some friends friday, then head to my parents house for most of the week.  When I come back, Fritz will have picked up our very first CSA box!  Can’t wait!

What’s coming up in your life that you are excited about?

6 Comments

Filed under Beverages

6 responses to “Gingery Green Monster

  1. Your site is beautiful. I love how clean and fresh it looks. Also love your green monster. We make a smoothie every morning with tons of greens as well as carrots every morning. Our two little boys LOOOVE it.

    • thanks so much–that’s exactly the look i’ve been going for so it’s so nice to hear you say it 🙂 I’ve never tried it with carrots, but I bet with some banana i could make a really good “carrot cake” monster–awesome idea!

  2. I can’t believe I’m hearing myself say this but I will try out some of the green monster smoothies. Thank you so much for this post and I have seen others saying as well that it really good, so it about time I gave it a try! I will keep you updated:-)

  3. I’m going to have to try this smoothie – I love, love LOOOVE ginger, and it had never occured to me to add it to a smoothie, even one with vegetables in it 🙂

Leave a Reply

