Grilled Summer Corn Salad

Best news ever.  I have officially completed the end of my second year of PT school.  I’m a third year!

It feels amazing.  Especially because:

  1. I don’t feel guilty about cooking and/or blogging instead of studying.
  2. I may be able to actually read a large section of a book tomorrow without falling asleep.
  3. I can go to the gym for a whole hour and a half! Maybe even two hours!
  4. The sun came out for two minutes when I walked out of school.  Coincidence?
  5. My friends are coming over tonight, and if it doesn’t start raining again, we can use the fire pit!
  6. Fritz and I are going to Boston this weekend to celebrate my younger sister’s 21st birthday (happy birthday, Kristen!)!
  7. I made grilled summer corn salad for dinner–and finally learned to turn on the grill all by myself (about time, huh?)
  8. Fritz got sworn in as an American citizen yesterday.  God bless America.

Grilled Corn Summer Salad (original recipe here)

  • 3 ears of corn, shucked and cleaned
  • 1 small eggplant, cut in half lengthwise OR 1 yellow squash, cut in half lengthwise
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 2-3 T chive blossom vinegar or other vinegar of choice
  • 2 T minced parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste

Turn on the grill to high, oil it, and let it heat up for about ten minutes.  Lay the corn and eggplant (or squash) directly on the grill, turning a few times, for about 20 minutes, until slightly charred and cooked.

Slice the eggplant/squash into cubes.  I used eggplant, but I really think I would have liked the taste and texture of the squash better–brighter and a little less…eggplanty.  Next, cut the corn kernels off the cob.

I love corn on the cob, and charred?  Even better.  I could have eaten all three ears for dinner, but I thought Fritz might appreciate an actual meal for once.  Add the diced tomato, parsley, olive oil, and vinegar.  Mix and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Remember that chive blossom vinegar?  Here it is, in the most gorgeous bright pink ever found in nature.  This is seriously only colored by the chive blossoms!  I let it sit for a week, and when I tasted it today I decided a week was enough–nice, strong chive taste (but not too strong).

I was only about 90% thrilled with this salad, but I think it would have been 100% with the switch from eggplant to summer squash.  The corn added a really nice touch of sweetness to the salad that was quite enjoyable.  Also, I love corn.  Have I said that?

It’s delicious.

Now if it would just stay nice outside!

I also got to pick some of our flowers from the garden for the first time this year, and they dress up the house instantly:

Amusing fact: I took out a cut crystal vase we received as a wedding gift to hold the flowers, laughed hysterically (so not me), and immediately put them into a washed out chutney bottle.  Ahhh.  Much better.

This is also Fritz’s first full day as an American!  Look at how cute he was getting all dressed up to go be sworn in:

I think that tomorrow some friends and I are getting together to make some yummy frozen treats, and then we are headed off to Boston for the weekend!

11 Comments

Filed under Salads

11 responses to “Grilled Summer Corn Salad

  1. I love the bright colors of this salad! Have fun in Boston!

  2. Congrats to both you and Fritz… relief and celebration time for both of you! I made the Three Layer Chocolate Cake/strawberry filling/ganache that you posted earlier this year. It was a surprise for my husband, and he LOVED it. Thanks for sharing all these wonderful recipes, as I always look forward to your blog and all the wonderful tips that you share!!

    ~C~

  3. Congrats to you on becoming a 3rd year student and to Fritz on his citizenship! Great day for both of you!

    That salad looks amazing! I love grilled corn and grilled eggplant, but I haven’t put them together like that before.

  4. tharrie

    LOVE the flowers….& the food. So glad that your grill is easy to operate – only Johann can grill on ours!

    • I attempted to grill meat on ours for the first time today–you’ll see tomorrow how that turned out 🙂 Fritz was definitely a little uncomfortable with me making the steak out there! He says I’m encroaching on his last remaining turf…haha

  5. Pingback: grilled summer corn salad | tenteneightythree

  6. Pingback: Too Hot to Cook? Try These Simple Summer Salads

  7. Pingback: Too Hot to Cook? Try These Simple Summer Salads | SideTrack

  8. Your grilled corn looks awesome! We would love if you submitted this recipe & any two other side dishes to this week of the Get Grillin’ event that Cookin’ Canuck and I am hosting 🙂

Leave a Reply

