Double Chocolate (Whole-Wheat) Banana Bread

(Ignore this: NYGKCEBBJVEG.  It’s a verification code for a website.)

Double chocolate whole-wheat banana bread.

It’s good for you, but it’s not.

There’s the banana and whole-wheat flour, but there’s also the chocolate and the oil and the sugar.

It’s called bread, but it tastes like cake.

You can eat it after dinner for dessert, or waaaaay after dinner for breakfast. 

It’s double chocolate whole-wheat banana bread!

Double Chocolate (Whole-Wheat) Banana Bread (adapted from this recipe at Former Chef)

  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 C canola oil
  • 3/4 C skim milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1 t instant mocha (optional)
  • 1/3 C cocoa powder
  • heaping 1/2 C dark chocolate chips/morsels

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Combine the wet ingredients in your mixer bowl and mix on medium until bananas are mashed (alternatively, mash them first.  You don’t have to be lazy like me). 

Here’s where the important guys come into play:

Add the dry ingredients (salt, baking powder, sugar, flour, cocoa powder, mocha powder, chocolate chips) and combine until just mixed.  This should be more like brownie batter than bread dough.

Lick the spoon, and pour the batter into a sprayed bread pan.  Lick the spoon again.  Now the bowl.  Now steal another spoonful of batter from the pan.

Do this at your own risk.  There are eggs in there.  Raw ones. 

I’m willing to risk it.  I’m also willing to forgo lunch, because at this point I am full of banana bread batter.  Totally worth it.

Bake on the middle rack for about an hour, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Don’t over bake it, ’cause no one likes dry banana bread, especially when it’s already dark brown.  Also, don’t mistake melted chocolate chips for wet dough on the toothpick.  Allow to cool, and run a knife along the edges and flip out of the pan. 

Technically, you should allow it to cool completely before slicing, but who am I kidding?  Your husband has probably been finding excuses to linger in the kitchen for the last 30 minutes (“oh, I’m just grabbing a, uh, towel to wipe down this here, um, counter”).  As if he’s ever wiped down a counter in his entire life.

So, cut him a slice.  Let him eat it warm.  He’ll pledge his undying, eternal, unconditional love to you. 

Allow him to eat another slice.  He may even wipe the counters down for you.

Yeah.  It’s really good.  Very moist and unexpectedly rich.  At first taste I thought it was a bit bland, but I think it’s because I tried it right out of the oven.  When I went for the second taste about an hour later…BAM!  Full flavor.  First intense chocolate, then a tiny bit of coffee, and finally the sweet, sweet banana carrying it all.

Definitely going in the top list of breakfast breads to make next time I’m invited to a brunch (hear that? Invite me!) .  And yes, there’s already a list for that.

As an aside, I am just getting over being sore from the gym class I went to on Friday.  Same class I go to every Friday, and usually don’t get sore from.  Must have thrown myself hardcore into that workout–my pecs, quads, adductors and hamstrings were on fire yesterday!  So weird.  I’m also planning on starting up yoga again now that my nerve problem seems to have settled down–I just have to remind myself that it’s not a competition and I don’t need to overstretch just to be the best in the room.

It’s all about what’s good for your body.  As far as reaching my happy weight–getting even closer to my goal (just goes to show–you can eat double chocolate banana bread, sweet potato cinnamon rolls, and have your chocolate chip cookies, too, as long as you balance, balance, balance!).

Wish me luck on my finals tomorrow!

14 Comments

Filed under Breads

14 responses to “Double Chocolate (Whole-Wheat) Banana Bread

  1. That looks awesome! I will have to give it a try. It may be too temptingly dangerous to have at my house!

  2. Annie

    This looks great…can’t wait to try it. I have one question…is there a reason why the 1 1/2 c. of flour is listed twice? Thanks!

  3. SGM

    Yummy! That looks so rich and wonderful! I think I may just have to try this one using our favorite whole wheat called Kamut Wheat! I love experimenting and finding healthy and delicious recipes that our kiddos love too!

  4. I love the sound of this banana bread. Looks delicious.

  5. YUMMY YUMMY YUMMILICOUS!!! 😀

  6. Scott

    I printed this recipe when I first saw the post, and I just tried it–double batch, and used Folgers instant coffee (a secret ingredient in my chili–I don’t drink it) and I accidentally used 2 T instead of 2 t of baking powder. I did catch the error on the flour in my printed copy, but luckily I had the sense to notice it! 🙂

    It smells and looks great, and didn’t blow out of the pan, as I feared when I realized the mistake.

    I just tried a piece, and the only thing I would change–if you have a solution for it–is to figure out how to make the dark chocolate morsels not sink to the bottom. They were still really, really good, though. I might try chopping them up into smaller bits next time.

    Thanks for sharing it and pet your awesome cat for me.

    • My chocolate pieces didn’t sink at all! Maybe because mine were pretty small? Also, I’d LOVE the recipe for chili that involves instant coffee! And consider the cat petted. 🙂

  7. littlehealthjunkie

    ok, you definitely had me at double chocolate…but add in whole wheat flour and bananas, holy yum and so healthy to boot!! (i totally count oil + sugar as staples!) totally agree that it’s all about balance, balance and balance!!

  8. s

    yummmmy. am def trying this one…

  9. Pingback: Starbucks Iced Coffee- Home Brew It! « A Cup of Mo

  10. Pingback: Starbucks Iced Coffee (Home Brew) Review « A Cup of Mo

  11. Jane

    Very nice recipe.

    I also like the below banana bread recipe. 🙂

    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/delicious-banana-bread-recipe/

    Jane

Leave a Reply

