Chive Blossom Vinegar

Hello all!  It’s been a few days since I’ve ventured out into the sun.  I’ve been in studying prison, and soon I shall return.  However, with two tests down, I thought I’d take a break and do something soothing–i.e. cooking related.  Nothing says spring and fresh summer salads than chive blossom vinegar:

Those of you who have been hangin’ out here for a while know about my herb garden that I started last year.  This year I am really determined to take every advantage of the amazing fresh herbs that are literally on my doorstep–parsley, sage, thyme, basil, mint, lavender, and chives.  Since the garden is already abounding with everything (except the basil, which is still in baby form), I need to get going now to take full advantage.

The chives sprung up really early this year, and are already in full purple blossom.  Gorgeous, by the way, but I had no idea what to do with them.  Does one prune the blossoms?  Leave ’em alone?  Make chive-scented bouquets?  So imagine my joy and surprise when I find a recipe that actually uses the blossoms–to make vinegar!

I was paging though a cookbook my mom gave me last Christmas called Another Savory Seasoning all about cooking with herbs.  In the veeeery back is a chapter entitled “specialties”.  Clearly this is the one I was immediately drawn to–vinegars, jellies, teas, seasoned salt, butter, mustard–all those things that cost a lot of money to buy at boutiques, and I can now make for under a buck!

I love when special things are cheap.  Makes ’em even more special, in my opinion.

This discovery coincides perfectly with my other goal–to make this the “summer of salad”.  This chive blossom vinegar, which will turn a light pink color over the next few weeks and have a “delicious chive aroma”, is touted as wonderful dressing over a light salad.

Yes, please.

Plus, I love vinegar.  I used to like to eat salt and vinegar chips until the roof of my mouth is raw and bleeding–still do, on occasion. 

Okay, that’s weird.  Sorry I told you that.

Chive Blossom Vinegar

  • 16 oz of white distilled vinegar (5% acidity)
  • 2-3 C chive blossoms
  • glass/plastic jar

Here’s an important point–you don’t want metal to touch your vinegar!  If you want to stir it, use a wooden spoon.  If you are using a jar with a metal lid (like my mason jars), cover the top with plastic first.

Pick enough chive blossoms to fill the jar halfway–if you don’t have enough, you can come over and have some of mine!  I have a lot.

Wash them thoroughly, and drain them or blot them ’till they are totally dry.  Fill the jar, and pour the vinegar over the top to fill.

Cover with plastic, then the metal lid, then let it sit for a few weeks, not in bright light (stick it in your cupboard!).  After it’s light pink and pretty, strain through filter paper into containers.

I love the idea of making herb vinegars and oils–they are beautiful and make great gourmet gifts…not to mention the fact that they are dead cheap to make (and I definitely think that matters!).  I can’t wait until I’m ready to use this–I’ll update you then on how it looks and tastes.

My intuition says I’m gonna like this a lot.

In other summer-y news, here’s our pool, turned back to blue after only one day of filtering!  Still needs to be vacuumed, but it’s not quite warm enough to warrant that job yet.  Since our pool was actually black when we opened it last year (eww!), we expected it to take a lot longer to clear up this year.  Guess our new cover did its job!

Hope you have a beautiful, sunshine-y, happy day no matter what the weather is like outside.

8 Comments

Filed under Sauces

8 responses to “Chive Blossom Vinegar

  1. That vinegar is beautiful! So is that pool of yours 🙂 Can’t wait for s’mores and swimming this summer.

  2. Hannah

    When you say you “love things that are cheap” a vision of STrettcchhyyy comes to mind along with a tweety t-shirt, ill fitting leggings and velcro sneakers. I prefer “a bargain” “a find” “low cost” “affordable” “home grown” “home made” …..

  3. Pingback: Herbs–Garden Edition | A Full Measure of Happiness

  4. Pingback: Grilled Summer Corn Salad | A Full Measure of Happiness

  5. Pingback: An Ode to Spring: Quick Recipe for Chive Oil | Eat Boutique - handmade food giftbox, homemade, homespun, gift basket, food that hugs you back

  6. I made this and wrote about it here. I loved the wonderful purple-pink color. It’s still sitting out in my kitchen and makes me smile every time I look at it. Thanks for sharing the idea.

Leave a Reply

