Peanut Butter Green Monster

Oh. Em. Gee.

This is the best Green Monster I have ever had.  I’ve had it two days in a row–it’s a fresh, filling, delicious, creamy, peanut buttery, hit-the-spot breakfast.  Need I go on?

If you like peanut butter, you need to trust me and make this.  It doesn’t need to be for breakfast.  Have it after the gym or as part of your lunch.  Just find a way to do it.

Peanut Butter Green Monster

  • 1/2 C skim milk
  • 1/2 C water + ice cubes (5 or 6)
  • 1 T ground flaxseed
  • 1 T peanut butter
  • 1-2 T Carnation Instant Breakfast powder, chocolate flavor (or cocoa powder, or chocolate protein powder, or nothing!  Experiment!)
  • 2 handfuls fresh spinach
  • 1 ripe banana, sliced

I have a box of Carnation Instant Breakfasts leftover from when I used to hate eating breakfast (my, how things have changed).  Now that I eat big healthy breakfasts, rather than instant, powdered, sugary breakfasts, I’ve tried to find ways to get rid of them without just tossing ’em.  Looks like I may have found a solution, one tablespoonful at a time.

Waste not, want not!

Layer the ingredients in the blender as usual (water, PB, ice, and powders first, then spinach, then banana on top) and blend away until smooth. 

 

The last few days I’ve made these first thing in the morning, then stuck them in a mug in the freezer until I left for school just to save myself a little time in the morning.  Another nice thing about Green Monsters for breakfast?  All you need is a travel mug and your breakfast is transportable.

This particular monster isn’t as vivid green as some of its counterparts–I think it’s partially from the peanut butter and because I may have used a little less spinach (we were running low!).  It’s still definitely green, though.

I found something exciting today–my baby lilac tree (which is now two years old), transplanted all the way from my parents’, is flowering for the very first time!  Isn’t she a beauty?

I’ve said this all week, but I really need to buckle down and study all weekend.  I definitely won’t have time to do much baking, but I’m sure I’ll find something worth blogging when I need a study break.  What are you doing this weekend?

 

6 Comments

Filed under Beverages

6 responses to “Peanut Butter Green Monster

  1. YUM! Your smoothies sounds absolutely DELIGHTFUL!

    Your kitty is SO cute! 🙂

  2. WANT! Looks like I know what I’m going to be making for lunch. Peanut butter and I are best friends. We’re always looking for more way to hang out. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Angela

    What am I doing this weekend? Syracuse farmers market Saturday morning at 7 am, cleaning house, hiking, and celebrating my new teaching job for the fall! Miss your lovely face!

  4. I love green smoothies, but I’ve never though to put peanut butter in them. And I LOVE peanut butter, so I have to try this sometime! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  5. Maggie

    DELICIOUS!!!

Leave a Reply

