Royal Honey(moon) Wheat Scones

I’m a little late for the royal wedding, I know.

I also didn’t watch it (but I kinda wish I did).  So when the urge struck me to bake, I decided to make some scones.  Honey-ey and wheat-ey ones.

And then I named them after the royal honeymoon.

Aside from their delightful taste, a nice thing about this recipe is that it only makes 6 hearty-sized scones.  A lot of times when I bake I suddenly realize I have 5,843 muffins or 635 cookies that are just begging me for some lovin’.  And really, I only was craving one or two cookies.  So if you want lots of scones, either halve the size of each scone or double the recipe (or both!).

Royal Honey(moon) Wheat Scones (adapted from In Great Taste by Evelyn Lauder)

  • 1 1/4 C whole-wheat flour (I used 1 C whole-wheat flour and 1/4 C buckwheat flour)
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 1/2 C water
  • 3 T honey
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a medium bowl, mix all the dry ingredients.  Add the rest of the ingredients and stir “vigorously” (the recipe says so!) until combined.

As you can see from my “ingredient” picture, I started off making barley flour, but my grinder wasn’t feeling up to the job so I switched to buckwheat/whole-wheat to save myself some time and energy.

Let the dough rest for a few minutes, then pat out on a floured surface into a circle about an inch thick (I told you, these are hefty scones!).

Using a glass or biscuit cutter, cut into rounds.  Reroll the scraps, and cut again.  I had exactly enough dough for six big fat scones.

Place them on the parchment paper and stick ’em in the oven for 10-12 minutes until golden brown.  Let them cool on a wire cooling rack.  If you have been cooking for years and somehow still don’t own a wire cooling rack, find some other adorable gadgets to cool the scones off on.

These were 4/$1 at a garage sale I went to a few years ago.  Score.

Enjoy these scones with a warm cuppa tea or coffee.  Or…just eat them plain!  They are faintly sweet with the honey and have a light nutty taste.  They are also surprisingly fluffy for something made with all whole-wheat flour (hello one whole tablespoon of baking powder).

Oh and…Got Milk? (Thanks for the mugs, Dad!)

And if you haven’t had enough Henry updates lately (because how can you have enough Henry updates?), here’s a nice montage of him lounging around in his ultimate favorite spot of all time–inside a cardboard box.

Any cardboard box.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Desserts

3 responses to “Royal Honey(moon) Wheat Scones

  1. wow these scones look amazing! i love the simple ingredients and how they came out so fluffy!! im not a muffins fan but definitely love scones, so these are right up my alley. and i like that they are plain so that i can eat it with lots of jam + butter!

  2. These look just delicious! And those are the most adorable cooling racks I have ever seen!

Leave a Reply

