Grilled Zucchini Ribbon Salad

Today was a perfect taste of summer.

I read a book on the deck, I ran errands with the windows of the car rolled all the way down, Fritz grilled kielbasa and zucchini for lunch, and I even got a tiny bit of a sunburn.

It’s just not summer if I’m not a little pink and a lot freckily.  And yes, I’m aware that it’s not actually summer yet–but it really felt like it today!

The zucchini that Fritz grilled for me was transformed into a light spring or summer salad that went so well with the kielbasa.  The zucchini was sliced thin (hence the name “ribbon salad”) and brightened up with some lemon juice and parsley that is flourishing in our herb garden.  Perfect accompaniment to grilled meat, I must say.

Grilled Zucchini Ribbon Salad (inspired by this recipe)

  • 2 zucchini
  • handful of parsley, minced (probably about 1/4 C)
  • 1/4 C walnuts, chopped and toasted
  • 1-2 t olive oil
  • 1 t lemon juice
  • 1/4 t red pepper flakes
  • 2 t grated parmesan cheese
  • sprinkle of garlic powder (or 1/2 clove, minced)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Slice the zucchini into thin ribbons–if you have a mandolin (the slicing kind, not the musical kind), that’d be perfect.  I used the slicing side of my box grater, which also worked really well.

Coat a grill skillet with some of the olive oil, and grill the zucchini over high or medium heat for a few minutes, until browned and softened–I did it in two batches for better browning, since zucchini has such a high water content.  Without a grilling pan, you could probably lay the slices directly on the grill, but I imagine that’d be quite annoying and time-consuming.  Maybe you could grill larger pieces and slice them afterwards?

To make the salad, allow the zucchini to cool a bit and toss with the remaining olive oil and lemon juice.

Add the garlic, red pepper flakes, and parmesan cheese.

Sprinkle with the chopped parsley.

And toss on the toasted walnuts (to toast, put them in a dry pan and place them on medium heat for a few minutes, shaking them to prevent burning).

Give it a big mix, and season with salt and pepper to taste.

This is a perfect way to eat zucchini–not too heavy, and the walnuts add a surprising crunch that makes for a better texture. 

Lip-lickin’ good.

Also–I am about to register for my third-year PT school classes.  My last year!  It came so fast (though sometimes it felt sooo slow)–though I can’t celebrate it fully yet, since I have masses of midterms, practicals, presentations, projects, and papers to work on (so many P-words!) before I’m done with my second year.

But still.  It feels good to almost be a third year.

Also, I was happy to have my (new!) camera out this morning when Fritz was leaving to go to school.  Every day on our way out the door we give Henry some treats–and the yoga positions that he contorts himself into crack us up.  A lot.  He is SO weird.

And as for yesterday’s joke–if April showers bring May flowers, what do May flowers bring?

Pilgrims!  Always makes me laugh.

Don’t judge me.

3 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

3 responses to “Grilled Zucchini Ribbon Salad

  1. Pingback: Barbecue Your Way to Health and Happiness

  2. Pingback: Zucchini Salad | Somethin' Yummy

  3. Pingback: Have a Salad. Hold the Lettuce: Chicken, Pasta, Fruit, and More | Yummly

Leave a Reply

