Crispy Roasted Broccoflower

Yes.  Broccoflower.

I hadn’t heard of it either, but it’s basically cauliflower that is a strange, alien green color.  Not broccoli green, but if somewhere along the lines of lime and cream of pea soup.  Just as healthy and yummy as cauliflower–and much more like cauliflower in taste than broccoli.

Basically I just thought it would be fun to try something new–so I thought I’d go all out and cook it in a different way by roasting it instead of steaming or boiling it like I usually do for its achromatic cousin.

Crispy Roasted Broccoflower (adapted from my new cookbook You Can Trust a Skinny Cook by Allison Fishman)

  • 1 head cauliflower (or broccoflower, obviously.  Or broccoli.)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • sprinkle of coarsely ground salt (or just plain ol’ table salt)

Yep.  That’s it!  Three ingredients.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees and chop the cauliflower into small florets (try to be relatively uniform in size).  Drizzle the olive oil over the top and season with salt.  Use your hands (this way you can feel when they are uniformly coated) to toss the florets and make sure the olive oil gets all over everything.

Bake in the oven on a middle rack for 20 minutes, stirring once halfway through.

I actually might go a bit longer next time, because the browned parts were my favorite!  The cauliflower gets a natural sweet flavor from the baking, and even though crispy is not a texture I usually associate with this particular vegetable, I wish it had been!  So easy and quick–and better than boiling away all the nutrients (don’t you hate pouring off that gorgeous green water when you boil broccoli, just knowing that all the good stuff just went down the drain?)

Someone else wanted to be fed too:

 

When it’s nearing his dinner time, he just sits as close to us as possible making adorable faces, knowing we can’t resist him.  If we don’t leap into action quickly enough for his tastes, he starts purring frantically.  Then meowing like a banshee.

It gets less cute the longer it goes on, actually.

Also–I can’t wait ’til it’s not super dark all the time!  okay, April, we get the point.

We’re ready for our May flowers now. 

(Nerd joke–if April showers bring May flowers, then what do May flowers bring?)

10 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

10 responses to “Crispy Roasted Broccoflower

  1. Angela

    June bugs? = )

  2. AWWWWHHHH!!! Your kitty is SO cute!! 😀

    I have never heard of Brocoflower. Roasted Cauliflower is one of my FAVORITES!! 😀

  3. nova

    try it with a bit lemon juice! delish!

  4. laurenzembron

    I saw your post on Tastespotting, and had to come over to check out this broccoflower! I love both broccoli and cauliflower, so I must seek out this veggie. Roasting is definitely my preferred method to cook any type of cruciferous vegetable :).

  5. Erin

    Umm… you inspired me! (as you always do)… I am making this tonight with broccoli, except I’m tossing in some carrots too, and seasoning with a bit of lemon juice and nature’s seasoning in addition to evoo. YUM! Served with stuffed salmon and brown rice, this should be deeelish!

    PS – I still want my cookbook for Christmas! You awe me with your skill!

Leave a Reply

