Open-Faced Tacos

I have a fun dinner plan for you–open-faced tacos!

 

It was quite a hit at the homestead, I’ll tell you.

Well, it would have been, except that Fritz was a little crabby because it was 81 degrees inside (too hot) due to our temperature-unregulatable apartment, and I dropped a butter knife in between the wall and the floorboard heaters and I made Fritz try to extricate it (this is all underneath the table) while I was attempting to photograph dinner.  Without allowing him to move the said table.

So, needless to say, he was a bit of a downer during the actual consumption of dinner, but once he settled down and contemplated what he had actually eaten, he was pretty excited.  Especially because he gets to have it for lunch again tomorrow.

Now, I’m just going to give you the general idea, not really a recipe.  But here are the ingredients we used:

Open-Faced Tacos

  • 6 small corn tortillas
  • 3/4 lb ground turkey
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1/4 t garlic, minced
  • 1 t dried cilantro
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Toppings:

  • Refried beans
  • Diced tomatoes
  • Avocado slices
  • Plain Greek yogurt
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Spinach, thinly sliced

Bake the corn tortillas in an oven (350 degrees) until crisp. 

Meanwhile, cook the ground turkey over medium heat and add the spices–but feel free to deviate and use whatever floats your boat.  Add some salsa if you want!

To assemble the tacos the way we did, spread the refried beans over the tortilla and add the meat and a sprinkle of cheese over the top.  Broil in the oven for a few minutes until the cheese is browned.

Now–go to town with your toppings.

Seriously.

Do whatever you want.

Enjoy!  These had a nice crunch and were fun to eat in an open-faced form.

I bought myself a present today!  I love cookbooks, but don’t have very many that are healthy, and lately I’ve been using the internet more and more to find recipes I want to try–that’s annoying because then my computer is in the middle of the table (and it has a very short battery life, so it needs to be plugged in) and plus..it’s just not as cute as a cookbook.  I leafed through this book in the store and saw so many recipes that I want to try so I just up and bought it!  Yay!

5 Comments

Filed under Entrees

5 responses to “Open-Faced Tacos

  1. Hannah Naczi

    I was amused that the little clip that appeared on FB for this recipe had your introduction that ended with “…and I dropped a butt source” apparently leaving off the end of “butter” and adding the word “source” before the link. I was a bit confused about what you actually lost. 🙂

  2. I love your recipe!!! YACOS ARE ONE OF MY FAVORITES!! 😀

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Spinach Salad « A Full Measure of Happiness

  4. Pingback: Herbs–Garden Edition | A Full Measure of Happiness

Leave a Reply

