Vanilla Maple Almond Butter

For some reason I have two mini food processors taking up space in our tiny kitchen.  I think that I got one at a garage sale, and then someone must have given me the second (and I can’t say no to kitchen gadgets…ever).  Either way, the moral here is that two mini food processors do not equal one big one.

I tried to make almond butter a few months ago, and while it came out great, my mini food processor ended up smoking and I only came up with about half a cup of spreadable nutty goodness.  Yummy, but it went fast–and I didn’t want to kill off my food processor by forcing it to do way more work than it ever should.

So I jumped at the chance to try it again now that I have my mom’s grown-up size available.  I went through a few of my favorite blogs and settled on Ashley’s vanilla bean maple almond butter.

 

Vanilla Maple Almond Butter (with flaxseed)

  • 2 C raw almonds
  • 1/3 C whole flax seeds
  • 2 T and 1 T maple syrup (keep ’em separate)
  • 3 t vanilla extract
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/2 T oil (canola, safflower, coconut), optional–depends on how you want the consistency

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.  Mix the almonds and flax with 2 T maple syrup, and toss to coat.  Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread the almonds in a thin layer.  Toast in the oven for about 20-25 minutes, stirring once in the middle.

 

Once the nuts have cooled for a few minutes, toss ’em in the belly of your food processor and give them a whirl.

And be patient–if you see them sticking to the sides and bottom (and just generally being very annoying), then you are doing it right.  You’ll have to scrape the sides and bottom down quite a few times before you get to the right consistency.

Keep on whirlin’.  At the crumbly/oily phase you might be tempted to think that it’s “good enough”, but I promise that if you go just a few minutes more, your patience will be rewarded.  And rewarded richly.

Once it reaches a creamy stage, add the other T of maple syrup, the salt, and the vanilla.  You’ll have to process for another few minutes to return back to the creamy stage.  If the consistency is a bit too thick for you, you can add the oil to thin it out a bit.

The maple and vanilla are very subtle in this almond butter, but definitely noticeable.

And delicious.

I want to award this almond butter a Dundie.

Speaking of which, anyone else out there disappointed in the last episode of The Office?  I thought that the first one with Will Ferrell was pretty funny but the awards show…not so much.

Bummer.

11 Comments

Filed under Sauces

11 responses to “Vanilla Maple Almond Butter

  1. Lovely photos! Great step-by-step. Glad you liked it!

  2. Pingback: 28 Day DETOX Challenge + Bootylicious Blog Award « katshealthcorner

  3. The Teenage Taste

    Oh. My. Gosh.
    I must try this! I am a nut butter addict!

  4. So true about being patient. When I made mine, I was like, why is it taking so long???

  5. hey lauren! so glad i found your blog. your photos are beautiful, and all the food you’re making sounds amazing. i really enjoyed reading your ‘about me’ too. almond butter is literally my favorite food, so i’m glad i stumbled across this recipe. will be keepin up with your blog!

  6. This looks fantastic- thanks!

  7. AWH! I want some of that RIGHT NOW! 😀

  8. I can’t wait to try this recipe. I love the combination of flax seeds and almonds.

  9. Pingback: Hello, world! (& an Almond Butter recipe) « A Dinner A Day

Leave a Reply

