PB&B(anana) Chocolate Chip Cookies

We brought our rapidly browning bananas home with us, only to find that M&D also had a stash of hastily ripening bananas of their own.  Some might call that a baking crisis; others–a baking heaven.

Plus, one of the many things that I love about being home is that the cabinets are stocked with three times as many ingredients as mine is (“Mom! Do you have chocolate chips?  Coconut?  Peanut butter? Old-fashioned oats? Madagascar bourbon vanilla?  A one-person soup crock that I can take pictures with and then eventually sneak into my laundry to take home without your knowledge?  Yes!!?!”)

So yes.  I love baking at home.

Also, I’ve been taking pictures with Mom’s Canon–you’ll probably be able to tell, because even though I’m only using the most basic auto setting, the pictures still look a million times better.  We might be buying our camera really soon!

PB&B(anana) Chocolate Chip Cookies (original recipe here)

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 2 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 C peanut butter
  • 1/4 C canola oil
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1/3 C shredded coconut
  • 3/4 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

Mom kept sneaking small objects into my ingredients picture until it looked like an I Spy book.  What can you find?

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium-sized bowl, mash the banana with the canola oil and peanut butter.  Add the baking powder, salt, and cinnamon and mix.

Add the remaining ingredients (oats, chocolate chips, coconut, and vanilla) and combine thoroughly.  Lick the spoon/beaters/rubber spatula.

Peanut butter, banana, coconut, and chocolate?  Yes, please.

Lay a piece of parchment paper over the baking sheet and drop spoonfuls of batter closely together.  The cookies don’t rise or spread much during baking, so press them into the shape you want (and don’t worry about them running into each other).

Bake on the middle rack of the oven for 15 minutes or until browned.  I underbaked them because I wanted them to be ooey-gooey banana-y bites (and since there’s no egg in these, you can do that).  They are warm, cosy, oozy perfect cookie bites.

So comforting.

Get your milk ready, because between the peanut butter and the chocolate chips, you’re gonna need it.

That’s the soup crock I’m stealing (look away, Mom).

These are also just the thing to recover from a cold workday outside:

Even Henry was found peeking around corners looking for a cookie.

And avoiding the wolfhound.

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts

3 responses to “PB&B(anana) Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. You need to send me the file for the photo of Dad and Fritz ASAP. I need it in my house.

    Also, LOVE the iSpy Kitchen photos. That needs to happen always.

    Henry looks like a creeper in the basement. He and Emerson could deefinitely be friends!

    Love you! And miss you and home. xxx

  2. Mmm, yes please!!! I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/04/sweets-for-saturday-13.html

  3. Oh my goodness gracious!!! I love how healthy your recipe is!!! Hehe, I LOVE your kitty!!! 😀

    I love your blog!!!

Leave a Reply

