Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Chickpeas

I’m on my parents’ couch, drinking English breakfast tea and watching Law and Order (LA).

It feels good.  So good.

Not as good for Henry, who has been locked in the basement for his own safety from the giant wolfhound (and my dad’s allergies), and who is currently standing on the top step, meowing forlornly.  I’ll have an intense play session with him after this is posted.

But let’s eat!

I was craving sweet potatoes last week, so I grabbed some at the grocery store.  I don’t think these two are closely related.

Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Chickpeas

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained (or 2/3 C dried chickpeas, soaked and cooked until tender)
  • 2 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t grated nutmeg
  • 1/4 t garlic powder
  • salt to taste

This dish can go one of two ways–sweet or savory.  I decided to go savory, using the natural sweetness of the potatoes as contrast, hence the garlic and salt.  If you want to, you can take those out and add a bit of sugar and some extra cinnamon.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Pour the olive oil into a roasting pan, and add the cubed sweet potato and chickpeas.  Toss to coat in the oil and add the spices, toss again.  Roast on the middle rack for 20 minutes to a half an hour, tossing again every ten minutes or so.

This is a quick and easy side dish that would go perfectly with grilled chicken, or sandwiches, or any of those early spring foods that could use a little warmth on the side.

I used double the amount of chickpeas that I listed, and we felt like it was a bit heavy on the garbanzo bean side of things (something I don’t mind, but Fritz–not so much).  Next time I’ll use what I wrote in this recipe.

Last night’s red carpet event:

Cora is the adorable daughter of one of my best friends when I was growing up.  If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ve met her before–but here’s some never-before-published pictures of this tiny lady from last time I was home:

That’s my older sister, Erin, not Cora’s mother.

She looks like a natural, though, don’t you think?

Here’s Cora’s family opening some presents:

Sarah and Josh threw a really nice party for her (complete with that perfect monkey cake Sarah made), and it was probably the cutest thing I have ever seen to witness Cora’s love (or obsession) for anything Elmo.

It’s been hinted that today’s adventures may include an antique store (yes!) and bulk natural foods (double yes!).

I love being home.

7 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

7 responses to “Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Chickpeas

  1. I’d never though to combine sweet potatoes and chick peas. Sounds fabulous.

  2. YUM! Looks amazing. Love those photos of Cora, and I love living vicariously through you when you go home. Enjoy! xxx

  3. roast chickpeas? can’t wait to try those out! gourgeous photos, keep ’em coming!

  4. Anne

    I made this tonight to go with some pork chops and it was delicious! I made them sweet instead of savory, and as we were cleaning up after dinner my husband and I argued about who gets to take the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks!

  5. JC

    Thanks for posting this recipe! I made it tonight for dinner & added a little brown sugar… it was sooo delicious!

Leave a Reply

