Sausage and Egg Muffins

Ah-mazing news, my friends.

When Fritz and I did our taxes for this year (okay, when Fritz did our taxes this year), we got a surprisingly large refund. 

That would be money coming in that we didn’t budget for–a surplus!

Considering gas prices, it’d probably be wise to set it aside.  However, that’s no fun, and Fritz suggested that we make a large purchase.

A fun large purchase:

A camera!!

I’ve been lusting after digital SLRs since I started blogging, and I’ve felt rather limited in my blogging abilities by our point-and-shoot digital camera.  I think I’ve pretty much exploited it’s abilities to the max.  My beautiful sisters and some equally gorgeous girlfriends that are into photography all have DSLRs that take the most perfect, focused, striking photographs with a real-live depth of field, and other cool photography things that I know absolutely nothing about.

So in the name of surplus, and hobbies, and learning how to navigate the manual world of grown-up photography, I’ve been exploring the world of Nikon and Canon and all their lesser-known counterparts.

And I need your help.

But before we talk about that, let’s talk about sausage, eggs, and muffins.  Better yet, all three of those rolled into one quick-‘n’-easy breakfast. 

I borrowed this recipe from one of those lovely girls I was talking about earlier, Cait, and while in between drooling over those lovely DSLR photos I was also talking about, I managed to put together this recipe.  It’s almost exactly the same as hers, with a few modifications.

Sausage and Egg Muffins (Cait’s post here)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Cook the sausage fully (if you bought sausage links, just pull off the casings and use it as ground sausage) over medium heat.  If you used my recipe for chicken breakfast sausage, here’s the instructions.

Crack the eggs into a medium-sized bowl and add the diced onion, peppers, and sausage.  Whisk until light and fluffy.  Add salt and pepper now if you like, or later so you can taste it and see how much you want.

 

Spray a mini-muffin pan (or a large muffin pan–or both!) with canola oil.  Fill the muffin cups to the top with the egg mixture.

Bake on the middle rack of the oven, about ten minutes for the mini-muffins, and 15-20 for the regular sized ones.  Check every few minutes, because there is nothing worse than dry eggs.

I mean, there are a few things that may rank a little worse than dry eggs, but not much.  I really don’t like ’em.

Between the veggies and the sausage, though, these turned out to be nicely moist eggs.  Muchly preferred by yours truly.

Not to mention fun to stack in pyramid shapes before eating!

Besides being cute as a button, I love that these eggs are highly transportable.  The mini ones were my favorite, but that might just be because I can’t resist anything that is a diminutive version of something else.  That especially includes muffins.

 

Also, as a side note, I thought you might like to know that I almost accidentally submitted this post with the blog title “Sausage and Eff Muggins“.

Kinda has a nice ring to it.

But wait!  Before you go, what kind of camera or lenses do you or your friends and family use?  Do you love it?  Hate it?  Canon?  Nikon?

Help!

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

2 responses to “Sausage and Egg Muffins

  1. I can’t keep up with all of your delicious recipes that I want to try. The “sausage and ‘eff’ ” muffins are working their way to the top of the list…. just behind that chocolate cake layered with strawberries. My family is going to think that I’m a rock-star!!

    ~C

  2. Canon. All my friends in the photography business will tell you that Canon sets the standard in the world of digital photography. Nikon sets the standard in the film world. I’ve loved all my Canons, and even the one I currently have (with some issues) makes me love Canon because of their awesome customer service. The camera I have is a lemon – I have friends with the same one and it takes awesome, sharp photos. Canon is talking about replacing mine, so I’ll keep you posted.

    Love you, sister!!

Leave a Reply

