Shredded Pork Tacos (Crock Pot)

Good mornin’ sunshines!

I was coming down with a cold the past few days, but I’m feeling a lot better today–with the morning off, fig and walnut bars baking in the oven, and a trip to the gym after class, I think today should be a good day.

Here’s a recipe for a basic crockpot shredded pork–I toned down the flavor a bit so that it would be a versatile base for pretty much any meal.  First we made tacos, the next day was quesadillas, then we added some BBQ sauce for pulled pork sandwiches.  I ended up freezing half of it so that next week I can take a day off from cookin’, too.

I love when I get to do that.

Basic Shredded Pork

  • 1 pork loin roast
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1 T dried cilantro (use less if you have fresh!)
  • sprinkle of Cajun seasoning (optional–I always like to add a little spice to my life)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, roughly chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 C water

Season the roast with salt and pepper, than rub on the chili powder and dried cilantro, finishing with some hot spices (cayenne pepper, white pepper, etc.) if you want a kick to it.  Turn your crock pot on low and spray with canola oil.

Lay down the garlic and onion on the bottom of the crock pot and place the roast on top.  Pour the water over the top and cover.

When it’s cooked through, take two forks and pull apart the roast until it’s fully shredded.  Depending on what you are using the pork for, you can add whatever flavors you want–but it will be tasty enough to stand on its own at this point!

We made tacos–with corn tortillas, plain greek yogurt in lieu of sour cream, a bit of cheddar cheese, lettuce, and some freshly made salsa.

They were good, but became even more delicious when we quickly fried up the tortillas in a bit of canola oil to make them into hard tacos.  You can also bake the corn tortillas up as chips to make nachos or open-face hard tacos.

If you have waaay too much pork to imagine what to do with, stick some in a ziplock freezer bag and put it away for next week.

I don’t know about you, but I think it’s time for a Henry update, don’t you?

I was watching Cold Mountain as I blogged this because Eber and Fritz were aghast that I hadn’t seen it yet.  What a great cast!  I’m not by any means a movie critic, but this was a fantastic movie–I laughed, I cried, I cried…again.

Fig and walnut bars will cheer me up!

6 Comments

Filed under Entrees

6 responses to “Shredded Pork Tacos (Crock Pot)

  1. I can’t wait to try this recipe ~ thanks for sharing such wonderful treats! I like the part about being able to freeze the leftovers, and then take a day off sometime the next week!

    ~Carol~

  2. People always thought I was crazy when I said I make my pulled pork sandwiches in a crock pot. I love this recipe, it’s a little different than my own but I will be trying it out. Nice post.

  3. This looks like a great recipe! I’m generally not a big fan of crock pots just because I love the process of cooking, but I think I might dust mine off and give this a try. Thanks for sharing!

    • the nice thing about this is the crockput just prepares the meat as a base and then you still get to put together the meal, so it’s like pseudo cooking (and some days I just don’t have the energy once I get home from school…). I use my crockpot strictly for soups and meals like this because I’m not a fan of that mushy texture that everything else gets

  4. Patricia Walton

    This was so good and so easy.. thank you for posting it! My husband still raves about it.

Leave a Reply

