Buckwheat Breakfast Bowl

We are out of steel-cut oats.

It’s a horrible, awful, no good, very bad breakfast situation!  No creamy yet crunchy warm bowl of oat-y and banana-y goodness to fill me up every morning.

Luckily, it is spring break soon and I know my mom is just dying to take me to a bulk health food store she’s discovered–and their steel-cut oats are only $1/pound!  So I’m holding out.

That means I’ve had to start playing around with other breakfast grains.  And that’s where buckwheat comes in.

Buckwheat Breakfast Bowl

  • 1/2 C raw buckwheat groats
  • 1 C water
  • toppings: I used frozen strawberries and pure creamed coconut, but you could do anything–let your imagination run wild!

Using the standard 2:1 ratio of water to grains, I brought the buckwheat to a boil and let it simmer for 20 minutes or so until the water had been fully absorbed.

I chopped up three or four frozen strawberries and tossed them in, and then grated some pure creamed coconut over the top.

The smell instantly reminded me of our honeymoon in Antigua, where everything was coconut and strawberry and tropical and warm…

I want to go back.

Mix it all up:

Let it sit for a second and watch something magical happen.  As the strawberries defrost and release liquid, the shaved creamed coconut soaks it up and transforms before your very eyes:

So creamy!  I did not expect that to happen, but it makes sort of obvious sense and I was very pleased with the results.  Oh so very pleased.

Who needs steel-cut oats, anyway?

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

6 responses to “Buckwheat Breakfast Bowl

  1. Sarah

    I am moving back to NY in 8 weeks. What is the name of said store? This could possible be a life-saver =) ( Hopefully it is in NY)

    • It’s called Planet Earth grocery and it’s across from Panera in Camillus…I can’t wait to see what’s in there, but it sounds amazing–bulk spices, too 🙂 I’ll report back after I visit!

      • Sarah

        I went in there briefly during Christmas to get my mom a gift card as her present, but I have yet to actually shop there. She loved it. I am flying home Friday to finish out teacher testing and now plan to check it out!!! Glad its worth it! thanks for the tip =)

  2. I just bought buckwheat groats for the first time yesterday. I’m trying a buckwheat bake tomorrow morning with them! This looks really delish, too! I wish I had some strawberries..

  3. This looks scrumptious! I’ve been mixing some buckwheat in overnight oats and it adds a fun crunch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

