Lavender, Thyme, and Rosemary Dry Rub

1) Happy Π day! 

2) I wanted to bake a pie to celebrate because any self-respecting science-and-maths-loving food blogger should.

3)  But it’s midterms week…so I didn’t do that.

4)  I took two out of my seven midterms today and did well on them–but I am now completely drained and can’t possibly imagine ever studying again. 

5)  So instead, Fritz and I are watching Wedding Crashers and I’m blogging and editing pictures.

6)  We also just ate a frozen pizza for dinner.

7)  It was incredibly delicious.

8)  It wasn’t frozen when we ate it.

9)  I still have a lot of tests to go, so I should probably get this post moving along so I can hit the books again.

My mom called me a few days ago and told me she bought me a book about herbs–how to grow them, harvest them, use them, etc.  It’s pretty exciting because I started an herb garden last year, and I spotted some babies starting to grow already.

Anyway, Mom was paging through the book and reading me some of the ideas over the phone, and she mentioned a recipe for lavender syrup.  That got my brain going–I completely forgot that you can eat lavender, not just bask in the glory of its luscious smell. 

I had pork chops in the fridge, and a quick google later this dry rub was born.

Lavender, Thyme, and Rosemary Dry Rub

  • 1 t dried lavender (you can buy culinary lavender in some grocery stores if you don’t happen to have some from your herb garden)
  • 2 t dried thyme
  • 1 t dried rosemary
  • 1/4t-1/2 t salt, depending on your personal taste (start low!)
  • 1/4 t ground white pepper

Roughly crush the spices (lavender, thyme, and rosemary) in a mortar and pestle–or use a spice grinder if you want finer spices.

Dry two pork chops with paper towels, and rub the dry rub into it with your fingers on both sides.

Grill ’em up!

Our gas grill ran out of gas, so Fritz broke out the charcoal even though it was a little windy out.  I had completely forgotten how the smell of a charcoal grill is beyond amazing.  It smells like camping and fire and summer nights…

Wow.

I’m off to study some more–enjoy your last few minutes of that Daylight Savings Time light.

Oh–and,

10)  This was the best dry rub we’ve ever had.  So delicious.

2 Comments

Filed under Spice Mixes

2 responses to “Lavender, Thyme, and Rosemary Dry Rub

  1. Pingback: Dry Rub Recipe for the Barbecue by the BBQ Pit Boys : Cars Blog | Everything You should Know about Cars

  2. Pingback: Herbs–Garden Edition | A Full Measure of Happiness

Leave a Reply

