Orange Sesame Muffins

Good morning friends!

I have the most spectacular Sunday morning recipe for you.  It’s citrus-y, fresh, and warm with the nutty tang of sesame seeds.

It’s orange sesame muffins.

Now, before I share this recipe with you, I just want to say something.  In the last few posts I’ve been absolutely raving about every single thing, calling every food better than the next and basically bringing myself to tears with the perfection of my own culinary genius.

Well, I just wanted to clarify something.  It’s not because everything I make turns to gold, or because I was blessed with some genetic gift in which Martha Stewart-esque recipes float in and out of my consciousness while I sleep.  It’s really just ’cause I only post the good stuff.

Fritz and I often have mediocre dinners (those days where there’s only broccoli, sliced ham, and leftover rice in the refrigerator), we heat up frozen pizzas (I’m obsessed with Digiorno rising crust–it’s our treat dinner), and sometimes I make recipes that I have to force Fritz to eat (these weird cocoa frozen energy bite things–not good).  Anyway, just wanted to make sure that you know.  It’s not normal to have everything turn out perfectly–especially when you are experimenting with new ingredients or tastes.

But sometimes, just sometimes, you do get perfection.

Orange Sesame Muffins (adapted from this recipe–scroll down to see it)

  • 1 1/2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 C ground sesame seeds
  • 2 T sesame seeds
  • 2 T wheat germ
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1 flax egg (1 T flax in 3 T warm water–let it set for at least 5 minutes before adding it)
  • 1/2 C buttermilk
  • 1/4 C canola oil
  • 1/2 C honey
  • 1 T orange zest
  • 1 C freshly squeezed orange juice, with pulp (I used four tangelos)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Add all the dry ingredients (flours, sesame (ground and whole), baking powder, wheat germ, and salt) and stir to combine.  Reserve some of the whole sesame seeds to sprinkle on the top.  Add the remaining ingredients and mix just until wet.

Pour into muffin tins lined with muffin cups, until they are almost full and sprinkle with the remaining sesame seeds.

Bake on the middle rack until browned on the top, about 20 minutes.  Remove, cool, and eat.

Be careful not to overbake these.  For once I was really paying attention, and I took them out right as they were done (including the cooling time, in which they usually cook a bit more).  The result?  The most moist and soft whole-wheat muffin I’ve ever had.  If I hadn’t baked them myself, I wouldn’t believe that they were made with whole-wheat flour.

They are quite cute, too.  They came out pretty sweet, so if you wanted to decrease the amount of honey by a few tablespoons, you could–just tread carefully.  They are pretty good as is.

 

So, some of you may know that my kitchen is limited in terms of storage space.  Fritz built me a bunch of adjustable open shelves on top of our weirdly too-high-to-sit-at bar and a hutch to hold spices and such, but I still run out of counterspace and storage space really quickly.  You can imagine my happiness when our next door neighbors decided to toss out a little shelving unit that I rescued from the curb on my way to school.  It now sits to the left of our stove and is packed to capacity with all those little kitchen things one runs out of space for–you know, blogging paraphernalia.  One man’s trash…

…is Henry’s treasure.

Hope this week starts off as your best yet.

7 Comments

Filed under Desserts

7 responses to “Orange Sesame Muffins

  1. Hannah

    Great Henry picture. Like the Chesire Cat. By the way, I think Swain-Simmons-Naczi genes are almost as good as Marth Stewart (Still a Martha after all)

  2. Yum! Those look really tasty 🙂

  3. Lauren,
    Your posts are great, but I have to admit that this one cracked me up, as your humbleness is soooo very refreshing. I never felt that you boasted or viewed everything as perfect, but this post really is a fine example of how down to earth you seem to be. Love your honesty, and I can’t wait to try all the recipes that I have seen, so far…. started following you after the cocoa covered almonds!! 🙂
    ~Carol~

    • Thanks! I felt like it was time to say something–I’m glad I haven’t come across that way, but I just wanted to make sure 🙂 I hope you enjoy trying all these recipes out!

  4. Scott M.

    Wow. I was intrigued by your recipe, since I LOVE sesame, and had never had it with orange. So, I proceeded to make these. Since I am on a heart healthy diet, I switched out 1 regular egg for 1/4 cup Eggbeaters. I also added a pinch more sesame seeds to the batter and just a splash of sesame oil. After the muffins cooled, I tried one–just now–without any butter or anything, and they ROCK. Very, very moist. I went the full 20 minutes in the oven, and I didn’t use muffin tin liners (I used Pam baking spray). It worked very well. Thanks for your blog and this recipe!

    • Awesome! I’m glad you make them so quick 🙂 you are welcome! I was also shocked at how moist they were–you could also substitute a second flax egg in place for the regular egg. Sesame oil is a great idea–I was contemplating adding tahini but I didn’t want to go too crazy!

  5. Breanna

    These look delish!!

Leave a Reply

