Banana Buckwheat Breakfast Bake

Isn’t that a great alliteration?  I didn’t even try, it just fell onto the page like manna from heaven.  Chocolate-y, banana-y, buckwheat-y manna.

In all seriousness, this is by far the best breakfast I have ever had.

I’m so serious that I had to make that into a giant font to be sure that you saw it.  The BEST breakfast, including every time I have ever gone to Toast, the most amazing breakfast eatery downtown.

It also helps that it’s super healthy and versatile–this recipe makes a great base breakfast bake, and then you can top it with whatever you want!  I used the edible perspective’s blog again, because apparently she is the world’s expert on exactly what I want to eat in the morning (thanks!).  I adapted it just slightly, so use mine or hers, and definitely check out her site for other fantastic breakfast ideas.  That woman is a genius.

Meet buckwheat.

Fritz read about buckwheat in Men’s Health and asked me to try some, because the mag said that it contains high amounts of rutin (a “flavonoid that has potent antioxidant properties”) and magnesium.  It’s also high in fiber and happens to be gluten-free, for those of you who avoid wheat.

Banana Buckwheat Breakfast Bake  (original recipe here)

  • 1/4 C ground raw buckwheat groats (you can grind them in a food processor, spice grinder, or coffee grinder)
  • 2 T raw buckwheat groats
  • 1/2 banana, roughly mashed
  • 1/2 t vanilla extract
  • 1/3 C skim milk
  • 3 t unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 flax egg (1 T ground flax in 3 T warm water) or one egg
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1/4 t baking powder

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all the ingredients in a small mixing bowl.

Grease a small one-serving pan or bowl (I use spray canola oil) and bake for about 30 minutes, until cooked through.  I happened to have a few mini-bundt pans, and I decided to make not one, not two, but three tiny portions for myself.

Let them cool for a minute or two, then flip upside down and pop out onto a plate.  These needed a fork to just encourage them to release from the bundt pans.

How adorable can you get?!  And the best part is, with three breakfast bakes, I got to pick three different toppings.

Oh yes.  Just feast your eyes upon that.  I used the rest of the banana with a tiny drizzle of maple syrup, natural peanut butter with a bit of honey on another, and Palmer’s natural blackberry jam and the third.  Oh. My. Goodness.

Obviously I had to eat the banana one first (I may or may not be obsessed with bananas), and then the last two together as some sort of miraculous peanut butter and jelly breakfast beauty. 

Try this as soon as you can.  Run, do not walk, to your kitchen.  Make this miracle happen in your own belly.

Also, here’s something cute–Fritz snapped a picture of Henry and I sleeping in this morning:

If you didn’t know already, Henry is a (classically) trained assassin, and therefore actually sleeps with one eye open.  He knows exactly what is going on at every second in every minute in every day.  So don’t try to take him by surprise.

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

4 responses to “Banana Buckwheat Breakfast Bake

  1. ebonyeyes123

    The picture you sleeping while Henry keeps watch is adorable.
    Thank you for this recipie.
    I have glutin sensitivity so I can not eat
    wheat or oats but I can eat buckwheat. I have a hard time finding recipies that agree
    with me so I will try this one.

  2. Aww, you are so sweet! I am so so glad that you loved this breakfast. I love how you have all the different toppings. Yummmm

  3. Hehe, Henry is so handsome!

    YAY for sugar free!!! I love your recipe!!! It sounds delicious! I have got to try it! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    • Henry definitely lightens my life–and I just KNEW I was going to add sugar in the toppings, so I wanted to do as little as possible in the bake itself, so I could control the amount!

Leave a Reply

