Gingery Beef Stir Fry (with Chinese Forbidden Rice)

Woo!  Yesterday I was “Freshly Pressed” as I sure some of you saw, and I got so many visits and likes and comments–it was so exciting and fun!  Thanks so much for the accolades, friends.

I’ve had a lot of ups and downs this week–I started studying for my midterms week, which is both an up (for not procrastinating) and a down (I despise studying).  I also wasn’t eating the best this weekend (mostly due to the stress-snacking that comes along with studying),  but I’ve been reminded by Fritz and my best friend Jen that each day is a new day, and this week I’m managing to turn that around again.  Jen was the absolute best when she told me this incredible pearl of wisdom:

We love food.  And we don’t want to ruin that relationship with guilt.

You know the truth when you hear it.

However, one definite up was a stir fry that I made.  A beefy, gingery, delectable stir fry. 

Remember this?

Well, this slow roasted beef (recipe here) was reincarnated as this stir fry.  As I said before, we don’t eat beef that often (that’s mostly due to budget issues, plus I tend to like white meats better) but when we do, it tastes so good (and Fritz is so happy).

Not to mention I could use a serious iron boost every once in a while.

Gingery Beef Stir Fry

  • 1/2 lb beef (steak, roast, etc) cut into thin strips
  • 1 t canola or olive oil
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 C carrots, sliced on the diagonal
  • 1 C broccoli
  • 1/2 C frozen edamame
  • 1 T minced ginger
  • 1 t honey
  • 2 T soy sauce (I prefer to used reduced-sodium)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 C uncooked rice (I used Chinese forbidden (or black) rice)

This is a fairly simple recipe, but a great way to use up all the odds and ends you have sitting around in your fridge.  Before you get going on the stir fry, start the rice.  My mom is known for sending me amazing new things to try that she stumbles upon while out and about, and this Chinese black rice was the latest care package surprise (thanks, Mom!).

I googled it, of course.  It’s also called forbidden rice (so much sexier, right?), and can be used in lieu of white or brown rice in savory dishes, and is often used in sweet puddings and such because of its beautiful indigo color when cooked. 

Bring 3 C water to boil, and add the rice.  Reduce to low, cover, and let simmer until all the water is absorbed.  That should be around the same time that your stir fry is all set to go.

Heat the oil in a large wok or pan over medium heat and toss in the onions, and after a few minutes, the bell pepper.  Once they are softened and browning (five more minutes), add the minced ginger and stir.

How can one live without the smell of ginger?  (And for those of you who would prefer to live without ginger, add a little less if you like, but I promise the gingery taste is not overwhelming).

After two minutes, add the beef strips and vegetables.  Pour the honey and soy sauce over the top and cook for about ten minutes, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables (mainly the carrots) are softened.

Serve immediately over the rice–this makes 4-6 servings, depending on how ravenous you are.  It rewarmed perfectly the next day for a hot lunch in class (and I meant to top it with toasted sesame seeds, but I totally forgot until…just now).

It’s ideal if you eat this with a pair of goofy chopsticks, preferably if they’ve been given to you by a close family member (Thanks Eber!).

Enjoy! 

We found Henry totally conked out on my gym/errands bag yesterday–he’s been playing so much more lately since it’s been lighter out longer.  He’s like a more energetic version of his kitten-self (and he sleeps like a kitten again too–right where he stopped playing):

 

Anyway, what do you make when you have to use up a lot of leftovers?  I always need new ideas!

4 Comments

Filed under Entrees

4 responses to “Gingery Beef Stir Fry (with Chinese Forbidden Rice)

  1. That stir fry looks great! (and made me hungry). Whenever I can, I try and go trans-national with my leftover dishes to spice them up. So if I have leftover vegetables and meat that I had made for a stir fry at dinner, I might put them into a flour/corn tortilla for lunch the next day with some salsa or avocado for a little Mexican hit. Or change up the accompanying grain, so if I used rice at night, maybe pasta or some kind of noodles the next night/day.
    Love your posts and keep cooking!

    • I absolutely love going trans-national 😉 I don’t often go Mexican, which is weird because I really love the flavors and could definitely use a little more avocado in my life!

  2. I love the way you use ginger. Surprised you are not featured today too! Would you please visit my site and leave a link to your recipe on my article on Ginger? I wish you could load a few of these wonderful photos too. I don’t cook but my readers do.

Leave a Reply

