Mexican Hot Chocolate Spiced Almonds

Fritz and I both have a sweet tooth.  Luckily for me, I can usually distract mine from chocolate and candies with fruit–Fritz, not so much.  He says he doesn’t even have a real sweet tooth, more of a “snack tooth”.  The kid loves to snack. Like, he really loves a snack.

Instead of fighting this primal need of his, I try to keep the cupboards stocked with healthy snacks–granola bars, nuts, pumpkin seeds, yogurts, peanut butter, etc.  A lot of snack choices = a happy Fritz.  (This is supplemented by my parents generously supplying him with extra-large bags of peanut M&Ms, of course).

I decided to make a sweet snack that would still be healthier than say, chips, but still have that grab-a-handful-on-the-way-by appeal that a true snack has.  I was looking through Vegetarian Times and stumbled upon the perfect easy snack recipe–Cocoa-dusted Glazed Almonds.  After I made them, I renamed them because they reminded me exactly of Mexican hot chocolate–sweet, spicy, and perfectly satisfying.

 Here’s the recipe for you to try:

Mexican Hot Chocolate Almonds

  • 3 T maple syrup
  • 2 T brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 t cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 2 C raw almonds
  • 1 1/2 T unsweetened cocoa powder

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Combine everything except the almonds and the cocoa powder into a saucepan over medium heat and bring to a simmer.  Add the almonds, and cook for three minutes, constantly stirring.

Pour onto the prepared baking sheet, and spread them out into a single layer–this takes a little effort, ’cause they are very sticky at this point!

Bake in the oven (middle rack) until the syrup around the almonds turns a darker brown, about 20 minutes.  Keep your eye one these, because nuts burn fast in the oven and there’s no way to turn back once you’ve gone too far!  When finished, remove from the oven and allow to cool completely.  Meanwhile, place the cocoa powder into a resealable bag.  When the almonds are cool, break them apart and toss ’em in the bag until they are dusted with cocoa.

Enjoy!

These almonds were a tremendous success.  They have a surprisingly complex flavor but it melds perfectly with the cocoa powder.  When I was just making the syrup, I was worried it was too salty and too spicy, but once you taste the toasted almonds with it–perfection.  These went pretty quickly.

And they go perfectly with a glass of milk.

122 Comments

Filed under Snacks

122 responses to “Mexican Hot Chocolate Spiced Almonds

  1. I’m having a go at this. Brilliant !

  2. Those sound so good to eat!

  3. lily

    this sounds yummy!

  4. Easy good and fast! Perfect!

  5. Breanna

    That is my favorite snack!!!!

  6. Barbara Walters Jr.

    Yum, these look delicious! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  7. they look soooo good!!!! even better if you add them to milk!!! have you used them in anything else???

  8. I really liked the concept of this spicy almond. Thank you for the taste!

  9. they are looking so good, and recipe is also an easy one. How long can we store them in open shelves?

  10. Jen

    These look so good. I’m going to have to try them 🙂

  11. Oh these look great! I would devour the whole batch!

  12. Wow. Simply WOW!

    And almonds are actually healthy. So you’re getting a healthy dose of healthy with that healthy dose of yummy. 🙂

    The perfect combo…

  13. Oops! I just made an almost-sexual-type moan in my office upon seeing the photos of these almonds! YUMMY! I’m printing the recipe right now!

  14. YUM! I am so trying these this weekend.

  15. I cannot WAIT to try these! Gorgeous photos too 🙂 Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed! I’m glad to hear that these are a “man-friendly” snack as well…

  16. Wow! Those look so wonderful. I’m going to give them a try for sure. I made some sweet spiced pumpkin seeds a few weeks ago with pumpkin pie spice, butter and a sprikle of sugar. The sugar melted in the oven and left a wonderful crispy coating on the seeds. We polished off 2 pie pumpkins worth of seeds in 2 days. I might not be able to keep up with the almond demand once I try this recipe.

  17. Wow! Just about my all-time favorite flavor combination (chocolate heat) and my favorite healthy snack. You rock for posting this! 🙂

  18. Oh wow, two of my favorite things…almonds and Mexican hot chocolate…in one? This is brilliant! Thank you so much for sharing and congrats for making the front page!

    Cheers,
    Lauren

  19. RL

    So excited to try this, almonds are my favorite snack. Add cocoa, what a win!

  20. nonserviam87

    Almonds, chocolate and cayenne pepper; there is nothing about that I don’t like! I think I know what I’m snacking on next.

  21. This is something that I have to try! Picante!!!

  22. Wow, these look and sound fantastic – I can sense a perfect snack comfort food once I’ve arrived in the United States (and this kind of cooking is a big reason I’m coming in the first place!)

  23. These look easy enough that even I could pull them off…and yummy enough for me to try! Thanks!!

  24. I LIKE THIS, THIS IS DELICIOUS

  25. Just seeing the picture is making me drool a little. Were they tough to make?

  26. These look fantastic! Thanks for posting them. You have a beautiful blog here. I found you on the wordpress front page.

    I have a small suggestion to inprove your blog. I pressed “print this recipe” and I ended up printing 16 pages. When editing your post, there is a little icon for uploading media (looks like a little sun). Save you recipe as a PDF file and upload it. Then you can insert a link for the PDF recipe file in your blog and people can print a 1 page recipe.

  27. wow!
    these look amazing..will give them a try soon.
    Great pictures br the way

  28. Are there enough exclamations to preceed the anticipated thrill of trying this recipe? I think not!

  29. mmm This is a great gift idea!
    just one question..is the cocoa bitter or the sugared one?
    Thanks!

  30. I am going to make one batch for myself to eat and one batch to give away. They look like they would make a great gift in a cute jar! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

  31. These look great. Also I think I’ll try them with out the ‘hot’ part of the mix.

  32. OMG those are to die for ❤

  33. Looks delicious.
    Can be a good little gift for friends.

  34. Can I try to use other kind of nut, like pecan?

  35. OH MY! I don’t know if I’ll actually make them, do you want to mail them, I’ll pay?! Ha, Ha! ?Thanks for sharing! Congrats!

  36. waw,,, it must be delicious ^____________^

    yammy,,,.
    i want to try
    thanks 4 the share

  37. Wow. … Wow… that’s really all I can say- oh and! I am going home TONIGHT and trying this… wow

  38. Wow! These look and sound terrific!! Bookmarked!!

    Mary xx
    Delightful Bitefuls

  39. These sound delicious! I love the fact you mention your kitchen aid on your blog too – I just got one in December and am truly in love! Congrats on making Freshly Pressed! 🙂

  40. Looks awesome and sweet. I’m going to try to make them.

  41. Yum! Sugar, salt and fat, does it get any better than this? Thanks for the post.

  42. Congrats on being “Freshly Pressed”. I can’t wait to try this recipe; it looks and sounds absolutely delish! I love your blog and its layout. You have done a fantastic job.
    ~Carol~

  43. Johann

    Promise you’ll make this next time you are in Calgary!

  44. Those look sooo good. I LOVE Mexican hot chocolate and almonds. Too bad I can gain weight just looking at almonds. I may risk the poundage.

    Congratulations on being FP!

  45. thefarmerslady

    as a huge fan of Mexican hot chocolate i immediately went to my pantry to see if i had all of these ingredients, and i did! so i whipped these up in a few minutes and i’m snacking on them as i type… yum! i added a bit of nutmeg just because it was sitting there waiting to be used. recipe rocks, thanks!

  46. Sounds delicious! Can’t wait to try some! Thanks for the post and congrats on becoming FP!

  47. Johann

    Promise you’ll make this when we are at the cabin in August!

  48. Promise you will make this when we are at the cabin in August!

  49. Java Drink

    ❤ Delicious

  50. Mexican Hot Chocolate Spiced Almonds,oh so goods i like to eat Almonds very much.

  51. I did a double-take when I saw this ’cause my most recent post was for some Mexican Hot Chocolate cookies. Almonds sound awesome, too. And my tiny, plastic co-writers really dig your photos.

  52. Oh my gosh! Usually when I want something this yummy I make fudge or Lemoncello… Now I can add these fab almonds to my list of must haves. Thanks!

  53. Modern Funk

    Oh. My. God. YUM!

  54. Ann

    I don’t know if the Fannie Farmer cookbook is still around (my copy is 25 years old), but there’s a recipe for spiced nuts in there that is great – sugar, cinnamon, vanilla…and I add some nutmeg too. I use pecans instead of walnuts. It would be great to make a variety of these nuts and give them for Christmas (what I usually do with the spiced nuts). Great looking recipe and I look forward to trying it soon.

  55. Ann

    They are so perfect!
    Ann

  56. I have always liked seasoned nuts. Sounds great!

  57. Joseph

    Looks really delicious…I’ll definately make some!

    A super-healthy alt: replace the syrup and brown sugar (very bad for the brain) with honey (the darker the more the nutrients). Use 85% cacao powder…more antioxidants in the same measure than “diluted” chocolate/ cocoa powder.

    Maybe try this with other nuts or even on banana chips…

    • I like your ideas, but I don’t think regular sugars are bad for the brain, especially in small amounts–chemically, your brain actually lives on glucose! Regular sugars ARE broken down faster than complex carbs, which we don’t particularly LIKE, but still not bad for your brain.

  58. Genius! I have got to try these.

  59. wow. i can’t wait to try this recipe! question: have you ever tried substituting unsweetened cocoa powder for hot chocolate mix in this recipe?

  60. stylistnc

    Okay I am definitely going to try to make this. The picture makes it look delish.

  61. ebonyeyes123

    I belong to a ladies group and we are starting a cooking club. I would love to share this with them.
    They sound deliciouse.

  62. Sounds and looks yummy. Thanks for sharing.

    Lets have some fun. Take the test Your Snacks Personality and find out which of these snacks do you prefer? I have taken the test and enjoyed a lot. Hope you too will enjoy it. Have Fun!!

  63. Marleen

    Sounds so good!!!

  64. Veronika

    Those look fantastic! I have always loved spiced almonds (my favorite so far are in sea salt, cumin, smoked paprika, brown sugar and fresh rosemary), but your recipe has me salivating already! I am definitely going to try them out for a next tea-coffee get-together!

    Thank you!

    – Veronika

  65. Great photos to help illustrate the point. And the almonds look really really good.

  66. Those sounds yum! These would be GREAT in a snack mix!
    http://pantrychef.wordpress.com

  67. Yum, I will be making these very soon!

  68. Looks easy to make and tasty! I want to have a box of it as a snack.
    For more snack recipes, you can always go check:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes/desserts-a-goodies-
    Hope you like it!

  69. M

    I want to try these so badly that I can practically smell them through the screen! :9

  70. These look delightful. I think I’ll try them with some ice cream!

  71. It’s been about 12 hours since I made these, and my house still smells amazing–and they’re delicious, if a bit too spicy for my taste (which just means I’m eating them one at a time rather than by the hand-full). I think next time I’ll use 1/2 t cinnamon and 1/4 t cayenne.

    Thank you for this fantastic recipe!

  72. Hope you enjoy this as much as my family and I do!
    Lemoncello-
    Juice of 4-5 lemons (@1 cup)
    Zest of 2 lemons (try to keep in long curls-it looks so much prettier)
    1 sm bottle Good vodka (if you use average vodka, run it through a pitcher-type filter 4-5 times. Filtering is the difference between average and good vodka.)
    1/2 to 1 cup sugar (to taste)
    1 cup water
    – Heat sugar in water until dissolved. Let cool completely. Add to rest of ingredients. Put it in a bottle or jar, and wait! Turn bottle over once a week to mix. It needs at least 2 weeks to make a good bottle, the longer you wait the smoother it becomes. (The last bottle I shared with friends was 3 months old. MMMMMMM!)
    * You can start with 1/2 cup of sugar and add more in a week if,after tasting, it needs it. There is no need to dissolve additional sugar in water. Just add to mixture and shake.
    *Recipe can be doubled, There is some debate as to refridgeration… I do not-I chill right before serving.

  73. MrZissman

    This sounds really awesome. I’ve been a huge fan of Mexican hot chocolate since I stumbled a cross some in Border’s, of all places.

  74. Mexican candy and chocolate is incredible – I have a huge sweet tooth and since moving from the US to Mexico I have been so delighted by all the sweets here!

  75. I made these in the weekend as a snack to have while watching a movie. Delicious – thanks for sharing!

  76. Lindsey Hough

    Just wanted to let you know that i also tried these and they were a HUGE HIT!!! my husband doesn’t get thrilled about the thought of eating almonds but he devoured what i gave him of these!

    Thanks again for always sharing your recipes with us!!

    Lindsey

  77. Pingback: Mexican Hot Chocolate Spiced Almonds (via A Full Measure of Happiness) | Corat-Coret

  78. good recipe like this and thanks for sharing

  79. This sounds really awesome. I’ve been a huge fan of Mexican hot chocolate since I stumbled a cross some in Border’s, of all places.

  80. Almonds and chocolate! That’s for the recipe. I’m going to give this a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

