Slow Roasted Beef

Two very exciting things are happening in my blog today:

  1. It is my 100th post!
  2. I finally added a “Recipes” and a “Blog Roll” page.

Pretty freakin’ exciting, huh?

I just want to say thanks to everyone who has read my blog from the beginning (that’d be mostly my devoted family members!).  Finally getting up the courage to start blogging took me months, but I am so happy that I did.  It is a great stress-reliever, and I love having someplace to share ideas and encourage that tiny little piece of me that is creative.  I finally understand those people who write in diaries and journals.

So without any further ado, let’s celebrate my 100th post.  Here’s a giant slab of roasted beef–somewhat atypical of this blog but not at all against my eating and cooking rules.  Luckily.  Because that could be a big strain on my marriage.

Slow Roasted Beef (from America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook)

  • bottom round roast (also called a rump roast)
  • 1/2-1 T canola oil
  • salt and pepper

Not a lot of ingredients, because when you cook meat properly, it can speak for itself.  Now, I’m not against seasonings by any means (or sauces), but sometimes simple is best.

Dry the roast with paper towels and heat the canola oil in a large pan.  Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 250 degrees (I said slow roasted, didn’t I?).  Season on all sides with salt and pepper, and when the oil is shimmering, brown the roast on all sides to get that beautiful dark sear (this should take about ten minutes).

Place into the oven on the lower medium racks and leave it alone for 1 to 1 1/2 hours.  So easy!  When it’s finished, the internal temperature should be 115 degrees for medium-rare, or 125 for medium.  We went with medium rare–my dad loves his red meat still mooing, and I may have picked up more than a few of his habits.  If you are like us, and your meat thermometer recently broke, then the inside should be red, the outer edge pink, and the outside brown; pressing down on the meat shouldn’t be too firm or too spongy.

 It’s not often that I find beauty in a big, bloody beef roast, but it was pretty easy to see it here:

 Admit it.  That’s just downright pretty.

Tasty, too.  I served this with broccoli and bulgur wheat.

After the gym today, round 1 of leftovers was reincarnated as another Dad favorite: steak sandwiches.  Though he usually makes these with cubed steak and fluffy white rolls, we had to make do with what we had.  And it was still delicious.

open-faced steak sandwiches, inspired by my dad

So thanks for reading my 100th post, and please check out my new “recipes” page and let me know what you think.  I discovered while I was inputting all the links what types of food I’ve been lacking in posting (grains? eggs? cake? where are you?), so you should be seeing some new recipes soon!

3 Comments

Filed under Entrees

3 responses to “Slow Roasted Beef

  1. Hannah

    Jordi would appreciate seeing a shrimp etuoffee recipe. I just made a better (more from scratch) version of chicken pot pie (than the quick cream of chicken/frozen veggie/bisquick one) and I thought about what your version would be- so I’m waiting for what you come up with. According to current Top Chef contestant Carla, there NEEDS to be bottom crust too, FYI. 🙂

  2. This looks fantastic. I usually don’t get excited about beef either but that just looks irresistible. Wish I had a roast rack so I could make it!

  3. Pingback: Gingery Beef Stir Fry (with Chinese Forbidden Rice) « A Full Measure of Happiness

Leave a Reply

