Turkish Millet with Turnip Greens

Sometimes when I go to the grocery store, I buy things I have never cooked with, tasted, or planned on ever using.  Exhibit A:  Millet.  Exhibit B: Turnip Greens.

When I get home and I am faced with the dilemma of what to actually make with these items, I turn to google.  “Millet and Turnip Greens” turned up a surprisingly large selection of recipes to choose from.  I decided to adapt a Turkish recipe I found here.

Turkish Millet with Turnip Greens

  • 2 1/2 C water or broth (I used a 2-C bouillon cube in 2 1/2 C water)
  • 1 C millet
  • 1 t olive oil
  • 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • sprinkle of red pepper flakes
  • 1 giant bunch of turnip greens, rinsed and chopped roughly (don’t worry, greens cook down a lot!)
  • sprinkle of dill seeds
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 T molasses (blackstrap)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cook the millet in the broth/water (bring to a boil then reduce to low and cover until water is absorbed) then set aside.  Sauté the onions in the olive oil over medium heat until translucent.  Add the chopped greens and stir until they are cooked down.  Top with the diced tomatoes, spices, garlic, and molasses and mix together, then add the millet.  Simmer on low until the excess water is cooked off.

Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve immediately.

I’ll be totally honest–Fritz and I loved this hot off the stove, and I ate a generous second helping. That was great.  But there’s been leftovers in the fridge for a couple of days, and we are both somewhat reluctant to eat them.  Weird, huh?  I’m not sure why they just aren’t appealing to me anymore.  I think it might be the dill–it wasn’t very obviously when it was freshly made, but subconsciously I’m afraid the taste is growing stronger and stronger as it sits in the fridge.

Hopefully not.

Here’s a picture that is definitely not appropriate for a food blog, but I thought it was super funny and just had to share.  Henry has found a new way to use his litter box:

 I think he just likes to know what is going on outside of the litter box at all times. 

He’s also just a very strange animal.

Cait is bringing her and Jeff’s tiny new Westie puppy over tonight to meet Fritz and Henry and then we are going to bake–should be awesome.  Have a great sunshiney Wednesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Side Dishes

Leave a Reply

