Sweet Potato Curry

My youngest sister (the baby!) got her permit today!

She can drive–supervised–but my little baby J can drive!

Also, she got a 100 on the test.

I’m so proud of my Bleach-obsessed-black-lipstick-wearing-Smallville-watching-Asian-food-gourmet-chef-tiger-tee-shirt-artistic-hand-massage-fiending-driving-big-hearted-little-sister.

I can also tell you that Henry is proud.  That cat is obsessed with that girl.  But I digress! 

On a food blog related note, I made a sweet potato curry as a starchy side dish for dinner the other night.  I always make at least three times what we can eat in one sitting, so that we can pack warm, hearty food for our lunches the next day.  Something about a hot meal is so much more satisfying than a sandwich during a long day of classes–and this is coming from a girl who loves herself some PB&J.

 

This curry has a subtle underlying heat from the vindaloo paste that isn’t even noticeable at first, but incredibly appreciable once you detect it.

Sweet Potato Curry (adapted from 100 Best Health Foods)

  • 1 t canola oil
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 3-4 small potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 C chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1/2 C lentils
  • 1 T curry paste–maybe less if you are using vindaloo because it is HOT!  Use a mild curry paste if you want a little less heat!

Boil the white potatoes in a saucepan until tender.  Meanwhile, sauté the onion in the canola oil over medium heat until translucent.  Add the sweet potato and cook for about five minutes, when the sweet potatoes are beginning to soften.

Add the potatoes, curry paste, lentils and broth to the sweet potato mixture.  Cover and cook until the lentils are tender, about 20 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

I loved how the sweetness of the sweet potatoes really came through.  If I had some ginger at the time, I would have added that in there too–mmm.  Hearty and healthy.

Tomorrow is destined to be a great day because I have the morning and the evening off from my normal routines–so much free time!  And I deep cleaned the house today when one of my classes was canceled, and there are two bananas rapidly browning (I think we are well past the “freckled” stage) just begging to be baked into something delicious.  So yeah, that’ll be a good day.

I’ll leave you with a photo shoot Henry and I had today.  He was snuggled right up to those speakers and apparently in love with the motivational cleaning music that was playing.

1 Comment

Filed under Side Dishes, Vegetarian

One response to “Sweet Potato Curry

  1. jordi

    yeah you talked about me in your blog!!!!!! i love henry as well! (and you and fritz)

Leave a Reply

