Chocolate Overnight Oats

I’ve never really considered myself a chocoholic.  I like chocolate, yes, even really like it; but chocoholic–no.  I mean, I grew up with a mother who is definitely a real-deal, certifiable chocoholic.  I’ve seen her take shots out of a Hershey bottle when the going gets tough, so I know chocoholism when I see it.  Me?  Not so much.

But last night when I was blogging, I put the movie Chocolat on in the background, and I discovered a stubborn remnant of that distant chocoholic gene.  Fritz gave the movie to me as a Valentine’s day present, and as I watched those images of cocoa powder, swirling and dripping milk chocolate, molded chocolate, truffles, drinking chocolate, cakes, tarts–I mean, I couldn’t believe what was happening.  I had the biggest chocolate craving ever.  And we had absolutely no chocolate in the house, except for Hersey’s cocoa powder.

Since it was much too late to start baking, I decided I could try to put my craving on hold until the morning, and I set up myself some chocolate overnight oats.  Desperate cravings call for desperate measures.

Lovely dish towel was a wedding shower present from Tharrie!

Chocolate Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 C old-fashioned oats (I may have added a few sprinkles more, I wasn’t measuring very precisely)
  • 1/2 C water
  • 3/4 C skim milk
  • 1 T chia seed
  • dash of vanilla
  • 2 t cocoa powder
  • 1 t honey
  • 1 ripe banana, sliced

I like my overnight oats to be a little runny (like cold oatmeal soup? is that gross?) so you may want to omit the water and just increase the milk to a full cup.  Combine all the ingredients together, except for the banana, in a Tupperware container.  Shake it (shake it! shake it!), then stick it in the fridge and hit the sack.

The next morning, slice a banana into it, mix everything up…and swoon (but try not to drop your bowl).  This was so satisfying and hit my chocolate craving right on the mark.  It was sweet, but had a touch of that dark-chocolate seduction from the cocoa powder.  And you know how I feel about banana. 

I thought about adding peanut butter, but I didn’t want to go too nuts (ha! nuts!).  Maybe next time.

Trust me, they’ll go quick.

Also, for those of you who are interested, I recently got a Facebook message from an old friend of mine, Jeremy, from college.  He started movie review website, and if you are interested, it looks pretty cool.  Also, he’s a nice guy, and his major at college was film (cinema?) studies, so he knows what he’s talking about.  And he talks a lot about movies (or at least he did when I knew him).

Here’s his website: www.iamcinephile.com.

Go there and check it out.

Since I knew I would be posting this little blurb, I decided to look and see if I had any old pictures of us hanging out together and voila!

Makes me long for the beach, and sunny weather.  Also for a time when I could eat whatever I wanted and be that skinny.  But alas.

I also stumbled on a photo of two of my absolute favorite people in the whole entire world:

My two besties.  You just can’t beat the pure happiness on their faces, can you?

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

6 responses to “Chocolate Overnight Oats

  1. Hannah

    “Hits” from the Hershey bottle? Really? How unsanitary. I think I ripped it open with a razor blade and licked the inside and THEN threw it away. Cold watery oatmeal with chocolate. Hmmm. Not that tempted, so WHO’S the chocoholic? 🙂 Cute picture of Jen and Fritz, I particularly like Fritz’s long curly hair. Can’t wait to see your kids, it’s dominant I think.

  2. I LOVE the movie Chocolat! We should watch it again sometime together 🙂 I also have another cooking movie my dad got for me that you will love. I’ll give it to you today.

  3. So this sounds verrrrrrrrrrrrry enticing. Have you tried it warmed up a bit?

  4. imaginecreation

    My mom-in-law made chocolate oatmeal for us . . . but she just made it like you do regular oatmeal, but used chocolate soy milk, instead of regular milk to boil it in. It was rich, but good . . . I do border on the chocoholic though. =0)

  5. Making this right now! Will add PB in the am!

Leave a Reply

