Roasted Chicken with Mango Chutney

Today was a weird day.  I woke up, admired the sunshine streaming in through the window, went to the kitchen, turned on the tea-pot, started washing dishes, and then fainted.

Whoops.  Turns out I’m a little dehydrated!  Needless to say, it turned into an amazing day when I walked into the bedroom, fainted again, and Fritz leapt into Super-Hubby mode.  He tucked me into bed, turned on the fan (and then the heat blanket…I couldn’t control my body temperature), put No Reservations on his laptop for me, made me banana pancakes, and most importantly gave me about 24,904 gallons of water to drink.

Aside from the fainting part, I could live with that every morning!  I think with the gym and the blood donation yesterday I didn’t realize how little water I had to drink–and you can’t depend on being thirsty to tell you that.  Apparently you only feel thirst when you are already dehydrated.  You learn something new every day, you know.

Needless to say, I had a very relaxing morning–until I started feeling better, and then we did three weeks worth of laundry in two hours.  Impressive, right?

I also took some free time to catch up on some picture editing so that I can blog a few posts during the week without having to spend a ton of time going over the pictures.  On Friday, we had a roasted chicken with mango chutney, and it was drool-worthy.  We ate the chutney the next day with pork chops, and it really elevated the chops from standard dinner fare to gourmet cooking in 30 seconds flat.  Not bad!

For the roasted chicken I used the CIA method that I’ve blogged about before.  As always, I ended up with an incredibly juicy, crispy chicken–made even better than before because of my new roasting pan that we imported from Canada.

Actually, Fritz’s mom gave it to me, and I carried it home as my carry-on after Christmas.  But doesn’t it sound cool to say it was imported?  Either way, it’s the best roasting pan I’ve ever used and it definitely turns out a beautifully cooked chicken every time.  Thanks!  See for yourself:

The chutney itself was fun to make–I got mangos on sale at the store, but they were already ripe and needed to be used quickly.  Fritz loves chutney, but I had only ever had peach, so I thought it’d be nice to try a new fruit.

Mango Chutney (adapted from this recipe)

  • 2 ripe mangos, diced
  • 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced finely
  • 1 T fresh chopped ginger (or grated)
  • sprinkle of red pepper flakes
  • 3 T brown sugar
  • 3 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 C water

Start by heating a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add a dash of canola oil, and cook the onions until softened.  Next, add in the ginger and garlic and continue to cook for a few minutes.  Finally, mix in the mango and the rest of the ingredients and stir.  Cover and cook on low until thickened.  I removed the cover for a few minutes to really thicken it up.

Serve hot over the chicken with a hearty grain–we used brown rice, but it would also be amazing over bulgar wheat.

Isn’t it just gawgeous?

This chutney was a decided success–the chili flakes gave it an unexpected spiciness, and it wasn’t too sweet.  I actually liked it better with the pork than the chicken, but don’t let that dissuade you from trying it with the chicken.  It was still great.

It’s not all sunshine and rainbows around here, though.  I’ve had a difficult time getting motivated for school work–I haven’t even bought my books yet. I know Fritz feels the same way, so this week I’ve decided I’m really going to sit down and get some things accomplished.  What do you do when you are having trouble getting your butt in gear?

Henry definitely hasn’t been doing anything productive lately.  Now that the sun is out, he just drifts from sunny spot to sunny spot, following the course of the sun throughout the day, leaving only to eat.  He really can’t wait for spring!

4 Comments

Filed under Sauces

4 responses to “Roasted Chicken with Mango Chutney

  1. OMG that looks yummy! I’m totally putting you in my blogroll–so glad you stopped by “Somethin’ Yummy” today!

  2. mango chutney! mmmm… have you ever swapped out the fresh mango for frozen mango chunks instead in this recipe?

Leave a Reply

