Ginger and Molasses Oatmeal Cookies

Sometimes I just crave a cookie that is sweet but not too sweet, chewy, and just a touch spicy.

I actually crave this a lot, but only every once in a while do I give into my cravings and actually make them.  After this recipe, though, I may give in a little more often.

I just love a healthy cookie.

Ginger and Molasses Oatmeal Cookies (inspired by this recipe)

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1 C whole-wheat flour
  • 2 T wheat germ
  • flax egg (2 T ground flax in 1/3 C warm water)
  • 1/2 C pumpkin seeds (unsalted)
  • 1/2 C blackstrap molasses
  • 2 t cinnamon
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 C-1/3 C crystallized ginger, chopped

 Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  In my mixer, I combined the flax egg, banana (not mashed, just broken into pieces) and molasses, and mixed to combine.  Next in were the spices (salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and ginger), pumpkin seeds, and wheat germ.  Mix for a few seconds, then finally add the flour and the oats and beat until combined.

It should look like this:

Isn’t it gorgeous?  I couldn’t get over that beautiful molasses color.

Drop spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  These won’t spread out as they bake, so press down on them lightly to flatten.

Bake for about fifteen minutes on the middle rack.  You won’t be able to tell by the color that they are done, so I guess you’re gonna have to keep tastin’ ’em.  They’ll be just a touch crispy on the outside and super chewy on the inside.

Yum.

I admired this glass jar at Cait’s house a while ago, and being the amazing woman that she is, she remembered and bought me one for my birthday!

Now I have to make cookies more often!

Not now though.  Sadly I’m off to school.  The worst days of the week are over though, and soon it’ll be the weekend–and I hear the weather is supposed to be practically balmy!  Finally!  The sun outside has been tantalizing me for days, and I’ll take a few early warm days as a sign that spring really is just around the corner.

I need it.  I’m dying to be outside.  I don’t want to be cooped up anymore!

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “Ginger and Molasses Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Your cookies look delicious! Thanks for the link 🙂

Leave a Reply

