Meatless Monday: Vegetarian “Tuna” (Chickpea) Salad

Oh, hello Monday.  It’s so lovely to see you again.

Not.

Ah well.  Here it is.  And since it’s late, I’m going to quickly share with you our Meatless Monday lunch, and then I’m going right to bed.

When I was in college, one of my good friends was a vegetarian.  This was really the first time I was in close proximity to a real-live-practicing-since-fourth-grade vegetarian, and I experienced a lot of interesting (sometimes weird–but not weirder than how I eat now) foods that she ate.  One of these was a “vegetarian tuna salad”.  Now, I don’t like real tuna salad very much, but I love chickpeas and every permutation of them, so this was an instant hit.  Her version of this is probably very different than what I came up with at seven this morning, but mine turned out great regardless.  Fritz ate this for lunch too, and was happy enough with how it tasted.

He has a real tuna salad sandwich for tomorrow, though.

Vegetarian “Tuna” (Chickpea) Salad

  • 2 C chickpeas, rinsed
  • 1 T mayonnaise (we use low-fat, or something like that)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Combine all the ingredients and smash ’em.  You could puree them in a food processor, but I like the texture you get from smashin’.  Then make this into a sandwich, or eat it on bell peppers or pita chips (yum).  I imagine you could add onion (maybe shallots would be better), or relish, or olives (I think I recall black olives in the college version of this) for a more interesting taste.

Fritz made my sandwich with avocado (definitely recommended) and iceberg lettuce topped with a bit of spicy mustard.

Fritz had a more classic sandwich–avocado, iceberg lettuce, and thick slices of a plum tomato.  No mustard for this kid.

Both sandwiches were on a great multigrain bread we’ve finally settled on (we have very different bread tastes–I like as grainy as possible and Fritz would love if I let him eat white bread).  By the way, did you know that Fritz makes my lunch everyday?

Oh yes.  I make sure the house is stocked with easily packable snacks (Fritz: granola bars, yogurt, almonds, trail mix, pears, string cheese and baked goods; me: almonds, yogurt, apples, carrots, tea, sugar snap peas, and whatever else strikes my fancy that week), and he makes the magic happen.  It’s amazing, because I don’t have to get up any earlier (how does it take me an hour to get ready not including lunch prep?).  Fritz is just the best.

The best.

Goodnight!

Leave a comment

Filed under Entrees, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

