Superbowl Sunday: Spinach and Artichoke Hummus

In case you haven’t heard, it’s Superbowl Sunday.

Go Steelers!  Go Packers!  Go finger food!

I’m not much of a football fan…but I am definitely a die-hard snack fan–and when you make healthy snacks, then everyone wins!

I decided to combine two of my ultimate snack foods (spinach and artichoke dip and hummus) into one fantastic and somewhat healthier version.  Plus, if there’s a way to sneak vegetables into something I love to eat, then I’ll do it!  Not to mention hummus is delicious on carrot sticks, celery, tomatoes, broccoli, and bell peppers instead of chips, so it’s a double whammy.

Spinach and Artichoke Hummus

  • 2 C chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 3-4 T tahini (4 for me…I can eat tahini straight outta the jar)
  • 2 T plain greek yogurt
  • 2-4 cloves garlic (I used 2)
  • 3-4 T lemon juice
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/8 t paprika

But that’s not it!

  • 1 handful fresh spinach
  • 1 can artichoke hearts, packed in water

BAM!  This is not your ordinary hummus.

Add everything except salt, spinach, and the artichoke hearts to a food processor and process until smooth.  I suggest leaving the salt out until it’s smooth, then adding it slowly until you like the taste–everyone likes their hummus to taste different!  The first time I made it I added the salt straightaway and it was a bit salty for my taste.

Rinse the spinach and chop it into small pieces, then saute it quickly over medium heat.  Squeeze out the excess water and add to the hummus.  Chop the artichoke hearts, squeeze out the extra water, and add that too!  Mix it together, and try not to eat it all right away.

How amazing is that?

I love hummus.  I could eat that whole bowl with a spoon.  Right now.  But that’s probably not the healthiest thing ever–by the way, substituting the greek yogurt for some of the tahini is a great way to make your hummus a little bit better for you (without sacrificing the tahini completely–I could eat that with a spoon too.  Isn’t that weird?).

Enjoy!  And go get ready, because it’s almost game time.

2 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Snacks, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Superbowl Sunday: Spinach and Artichoke Hummus

  1. That looks fantastic!! I will have to give a go!!

Leave a Reply

