Chicken, Quinoa, and Summer Squash Casserole

Every once in a while, something incredibly obnoxious happens.

And it’s not that my heat breaks.  ‘Cause that happens too, and I wake up and it’s freezing cold in the house and the temperature keeps dropping, until I am forced to lay next to the space heater wrapped in a blanket crying little frozen tears (or something like that).

But that’s not what I’m talking about.  The other obnoxious thing is when I decide to make a quick dinner and don’t bother to take pictures because I don’t think it’s worth it.  And then it turns out beautiful, delicious, and nutritious.  Luckily I managed to snag a picture of this casserole before Fritz dove in–so that’s something.

Chicken, Quinoa, and Summer Squash Casserole  (inspired by Cooking Light)

  • 1 large chicken breast
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1-2 summer squash (you can also use zucchini–I had some leftover from the other day)
  • 1 C uncooked quinoa, rinsed
  • 2 C chicken broth
  • 1 T rosemary, ground
  • 2 T whole-wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 C skim milk
  • 1/4 C cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Since there’s no pictures, I’ll make this a quick summary. 

Pre-heat the oven to 350.  Rinse the quinoa until the water runs clear, and then cook in two cups chicken broth (you can use bouillon).  Set aside (it’s okay if there is extra broth after they uncurl).

On medium-high heat, saute the onions in the olive oil until they are starting to brown.  Cut the chicken into bite-size pieces and cook thoroughly.  Next, add the summer squash (cut lengthwise and then sliced into thin half-moons) and rosemary, and cook until soft. Transfer to a casserole dish, and add the quinoa and salt and pepper to taste.  Spread evenly in the pan.

Put the flour in a saucepan over medium heat.  Slowly add the milk, stirring to prevent any lumps.  Stir in the cheese and heat until the sauce starts to thicken.  Pour over the casserole and bake for about 20 minutes until the edges and top are browned (I switched to a broil for the last few minutes because I love browned cheese).

So there you have it!  It sounds kind of complex, but Fritz and I were starving after class and it only took about 45 minutes to get it on the table–and it was so filling.  Plus, it is so full of good stuff!

Here’s another recipe that occurred under the same circumstances:

Turkey Chili in a Bell Pepper Bowl

This one’s pretty easy–I think you’ll be able to figure it out on your own.

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Entrees

4 responses to “Chicken, Quinoa, and Summer Squash Casserole

  1. Robin Arielle Torres

    Greetings! I stumbled upon your Chicken, Quinoa, Summer Squash Casserole recipe today and it was a smash hit at our Father’s Day barbecue potluck. Thanks so much for posting! Happy day to you and yours!

  2. I have this weird collection of ingredients on my counter – squash, quinoa, chicken… Thinking, what the HECK do I make?… Did a google search, and there you were. Wow. Looks great. I bet even my toddler is going to like this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

