“Green Monster” Smoothie

When my good friend Breanna was recently visiting, we got to talking about green smoothies–you know, the ones that look absolutely disgusting, have ingredients like spinach and kale in them, and are consumed mostly by the hippie roommate in your standard romantic comedy?  Well, we decided that we wanted to try them.  I’ve read in a few blogs lately that they can taste really delicious with enough tweaking and practice.

Luckily, I didn’t have to do all the practice.  Others have done it before me, and since this is one recipe that has the potential to be truly revolting, I decided to go with someone else’s Classic Green Monster recipe–Oh She Glow’s Angela Liddon.  And it was a great choice.

(On a side note, it started snowing pretty heavily in the last half hour, and I am really hoping that my classes (which don’t start until one today) get canceled.  I have so much to do today and I would love some surprise free time!)

Classic Green Monster  (adapted only slightly from the original)

  • 1 C skim milk
  • 1 T chia seed
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (for Fritz’s) or 1/2 T unsweetened cocoa powder (for mine)
  • 2 handfuls rinsed spinach leaves
  • 1 ripe banana, peeled
  • 4-6 ice cubes

Put everything in the blender–for best results, use this order: milk, chia, protein powder/cocoa powder, spinach, and banana on top.  Blend until smooth, add the ice cubes, and finish blending.

Easy peasy!

The green isn’t so frightening when you think about all the spinachy, chia-y, and banana-y goodness filling your body.

Fritz got a travel-mug version.  Bet he’ll be feeling energized throughout his long school day with a start like this!

Is mine in a beaker-mug?  Yes.  Are you surprised?  Yes?  Then you need to meet my mother, and you’ll understand.

That’s it!  I, too, was surprised that something with so few sweeteners can taste delicious.  I think for my own enjoyment that it’s key the banana be actually ripe, because this is the flavor you want to taste.  I also liked the taste with cocoa powder (it just gave it a hint of chocolate with only 10-ish calories), and the protein powder in Fritz’s was great (with many more calories)–perfect for anyone training for, say, a half-marathon (Breanna!).

Now that I have the classic one down, I feel like I can do more experimenting and make my own masterpieces.  I can’t wait to try adding peanut butter, coconut, and other fruits to these Green Monsters.

Thanks Angela!

4 Comments

Filed under Beverages, Breakfast, Vegetarian

4 responses to ““Green Monster” Smoothie

  1. Hannah

    It actually doesn’t sound awful. If you told me spinach, banana, chocolate would be a good combination, I would be doubtful. I may have to try it (I think I’d prefer peach to banana, or perhaps mango for smoothness) You could also go all veggie and try some avocado. I DO like that tray under your ingredients – nice touch of class. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tropical Green Monster « A Full Measure of Happiness

  3. Pingback: White Chocolate Chip Zucchini Brownies | A Full Measure of Happiness

  4. Pingback: Green with smoothie envy. « Post(ing)-Its

Leave a Reply

