Meatless Monday: Eggplant Curry

Today was my first day back at school after five blissful weeks of vacay.

I wasn’t ready.

But it really wasn’t as bad as I expected.  Mostly because we got out an hour early.  The best part, of course, was watching our teachers fill in all of the Fridays we are supposed to have off with field trips (okay, like, two–but I regrettably suspect the number will continue to grow).  I did get to go grocery shopping with the unexpected free time, and now the fridge is stocked with lots of veggies and fruits for the upcoming week.

It was stocked, at least, until I made this Meatless Monday’s (they’re back!) dinner: 

Eggplant Curry  (inspired by Evelyn H. Lauder’s In Great Taste)

  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1/8 t chili powder
  • 1/8 t ground cardamom pods, crushed
  • 1 t curry powder
  • 2 t ground coriander
  • 1/2 t tandoori masala
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 (small) green bell peppers, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 4 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 T tomato paste
  • 1 crown broccoli, diced
  • 1/2 C chickpeas
  • 1 eggplant, diced
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1/2 t sugar
  • 1 t lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

It’s a long list, I know.  But really all you have to do is use whatever veggies you have in the fridge–I wanted to finish the broccoli, get rid of the chickpeas, and use up the tomato paste before it went bad!

This is a pretty quick-‘n’-easy recipe, not counting all the time it takes to attempt to take decent photographs with a point-and-shoot digital camera in winter light (or should I say dark? absence of any light whatsoever?) with a reading lamp to brighten up the table.  Yeah.  I can’t wait until spring.  Forget the warm weather and cute clothes that come with it–I just want to be able to take decent pictures of my every meal.

Anyway, like I was saying, it’s a pretty easy recipe. 

Start out by heating the oil in a large pot/saucepan/wok on medium heat and adding the spices for a few minutes until fragrant–like any basic Indian food recipe.  Toss in the onions and cook until golden, then add in the garlic and bell pepper.  So far–yum to the max.

Next, add the rest of the veggies:  I started with the broccoli and chickpeas and let that cook for a few minutes, then added the tomatoes, tomato paste, water, lemon juice and sugar.  Once that’s mixed in and bubblin’, top off with the eggplant.  Try not to die of happiness.  Cover and stir occasionally until all the veggies are tender (only about five more minutes).

Serve hot in a big ol’ bowl.  I made 1 C (uncooked) of brown rice and 1 C of a Trader Joe’s brown rice mix (long grain brown rice, black barley, and daikon radish seeds–so good!  Buy it tomorrow!), which I think should last exactly the same amount of time that the curry will. 

This recipe doesn’t have an overpowering curry taste, and you can still taste each vegetable.  Can’t wait to eat it as leftovers tomorrow during school.

By the way, I wrote this while watching Juno.  Since turning off our cable (one of the best decisions we ever made), I like to have a stock of some of my favorite and most girly movies as background for blogging time.  Some of my latest and greatest have been Notting Hill, Music and Lyrics, Where the Wild Things Are, How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days, Once, and, weirdly enough, the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

What are some of the movies you can watch over and over again?  I need some new suggestions!

2 Comments

Filed under Entrees, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Meatless Monday: Eggplant Curry

  1. Hannah

    You’ve Got Mail, Sleepless in Seattle, Pretty Woman, Walk to Remember, Definitely Maybe….
    Also, you wrote 1/2 tandoori masala, and I assume it’s 1/2 t but wasn’t sure. Pretty curry. I’ll have to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

