Indian Lamb with Apricots (Crockpot)

Since my last recipe involved a  crockpot, don’t be too sad that I’m breaking it out again for this recipe.  I had some lamb stew meat in the freezer that I took out and I decided that the recipe I wanted to use would be better in the crockpot because I was using a cheaper cut of meat and therefore needed the extra couple…ahem…six hours of tenderizing.

Turns out that this was a fantastic idea for the reason that I threw everything into the crockpot in the morning, ran a million errands, and came back to have dinner all ready to go!  Even better because I made a last-minute plan for my lovely friend Lola to come over for dinner, and I definitely would not have had time to make something more impressive.  Not to mention I had some leftover cardamom rice, which went perfectly with this stew.

I just love when everything works out so well, don’t you?

Don’t be intimidated by the huge quantities of spices in this recipe–it’s not hot, just flavorful.  I also used a trick I learned over Christmas and added a bit of chutney to my plate that added an amazing tang and sweetness that I loved.

Indian Lamb with Apricots (adapted from Global Feast Cookbook)

  • 12 dried apricots, soaked in water until soft and sliced
  • 2 T curry powder
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 t minced garlic
  • 2 t chili powder
  • 1/2 t turmeric
  • 2 t ground coriander
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 T tomato paste
  • 1 lb diced lamb stew meat
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 t sugar

Oil the crockpot lightly with olive oil, then add…all the ingredients (this is why I love the crockpot).  The order I used was: onion, garlic, spices, lamb, tomatoes and paste, apricots, lemon, and sugar.  Combine everything, and set on low for six to eight hours.

The cookbook suggests you serve over rice and, if you have it (I didn’t),  poppadums, an Indian bread like crackers.

Serious Y-U-M.

While Lola was here, we also watched the documentary Babies, which made me want to adopt the fattest-cheeked Mongolian baby I can find.  So stinkin’ adorable.

Speaking of things that are adorable, I will leave you with an image that I completely forgotten that I had, but made me actually laugh out loud when I rediscovered it.  It’s my parent’s giant Irish Wolfhound, Hadley, sitting on the couch with my mom and Jordi.  Yes, sitting.  On the couch.  Like a human:

Have a lovely evening!

3 Comments

Filed under Entrees

3 responses to “Indian Lamb with Apricots (Crockpot)

  1. Hannah

    I also love that I am wearing a coat and scarf while sitting on the couch, and we are apparently enjoying a blue screen on tv.

  2. nice recipe. thanks for sharing. Check out another recipe for lamb stew at- http://www.gdayindia.com.au/anglo-indian-chicken

Leave a Reply

