Almond Chocolate Fudge

This is the last candy recipe that I’ll have on here for a while–I made these to go with the Mocha Melt Truffles for the dental students, and since it’s such a quick and easy recipe I wanted to post it for anyone needing last-minute Christmas gifts.  It’s a basic but still yummy recipe, and looks great with the almonds on top–perfect for stacking in a jar and giving away.

Speaking of chocolate, Mom told me about Lindt’s Excellence 90% cocoa “Supreme Dark” bar, and I found some at Wal-Mart on sale today.  I am an instant believer.  It is bitter and sweet and so, so dark.  You should probably go out and buy some right now.  I also grabbed a bar of salted dark chocolate, because I’ve told Mom about it and I want her to try some ASAP.  I was thinking about trying a salted fudge recipe too, but that one will have to wait until I make a few non-candy recipes.

Almond Chocolate Fudge

  • 18 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 14-oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • dash of salt
  • 1 1/2 t vanilla
  • 3/4 C chopped almonds and a handful whole almonds for the top

Combine the first four ingredients in a saucepan and melt over medium heat.  Once melted, mix in the almonds and pour into an 8×8 pan lined with wax paper.

I topped with whole almonds (because it’s cute), then stuck the pan in the fridge for a few hours while I made the truffles.  Once chilled, they can be cut into squares–they’ll hold their shape at room temp, so don’t worry about keeping them in the fridge.  However, since this is quick fudge, it doesn’t have the crystallized texture that old-fashioned fudge has, but a smoother, more creamy taste.  Can’t have everything!

It’s always fun to make presents for people.

In other happy news, I successfully finished finals week for the fall semester!  To celebrate (and save money by not going to PT Prom at $72 a ticket), we went to a fun dinner at John Harvard’s with the Jensens.  It was so nice to just hang out and chat with two of our favorite people and not feel guilty about the fact that I should be studying.  That dinner kicked of five weeks of vacation.

Five. Weeks. Of. Vacation.

Hoorah!

Jeff and Cait had the worst lighting possible...but they still manage to look good!

Cait ate as healthy as always with soup and salad, and I had a garden burger with mozzarella, mushrooms, and roasted red peppers. Mmmm.  The boys celebrated the way boys do with giant smoked stackhouse burgers (or something like that) with carmelized onions and bacon.  In an evening full of classic girl moments, Cait and I did not order fries and instead snuck Fritz’s and Jeff’s fries all night.

Science has proven that fries are healthier when you didn’t order them.

The evening also consisted of some beer, wine, and good conversation–basically a perfect way to end a jam-packed semester.

Leave a comment

Filed under Desserts

Leave a Reply

